Recent Searches
Clear

Northern Highlights Full-Day Guided Tour in Northern Ireland

|
Belfast, United Kingdom
Northern Highlights Full-Day Guided Tour in Northern Ireland

From US$226.04

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 to 8 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

A convenient option for time-tight travelers who want to see as much of Northern Ireland as possible in a single day, this tour encompasses the country’s highlights as well as some lesser-known sights. Explore Belfast city with a guide and travel along the Antrim Coast, stopping at the Giant’s Causeway, Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, and the waterfalls of Glenariff Nature Reserve without the hassle of navigation.
  • Tick off more of Belfast's top sights in just one day
  • Tour with a guide who shares fun facts and historical information
  • Travel along the scenic Causeway Coastal Route without the hassle of navigation
  • Stress-free, round-trip transport from your Northern Ireland hotel or port
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel/port pickup and drop-off from Northern Ireland
Bottled water
Light refreshments
Driver and/or guide dependent on booking
Live commentary on board
Local professional guide
Professional photographer guide
Transport by air-conditioned Private Car or Minivan
Hand Sanitiser in all our Private Vehicles
Social Distancing Guaranteed
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Food and drinks
Tips and Gratuities
Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
Hotel pickup from Dublin
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Belfast , Belfast, UK

City Centre Hotel Cruise Ship Pier (Premium Service at Extra Cost) Belfast Hotel Derry/Londonderry Hotel (at Extra Cost - Add £30 per Adult)

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

11:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.Pick up is available from all Belfast and Derry/Londonderry Hotels, Guesthouses, Bed & Breakfast, AirBnB, Holiday Parks, ports and airports. An additional fee applies to pickup from the new T1 Cruise Ship Terminal at Belfast Airport Road. Allow £30.00 pick up premium from this new location.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • A maximum of 6 people per booking
  • At time of booking, cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • Refunds will not be issued if tour/activity is missed due to late or non-arrival of cruise ship
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY InSite Tours Ireland
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitisation during Northern Highlights Full-Day Guided Tour in Northern Ireland?
A:The policies on sanitisation are:

  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
See all safety measures taken by Northern Highlights Full-Day Guided Tour in Northern Ireland.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Northern Highlights Full-Day Guided Tour in Northern Ireland?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Northern Highlights Full-Day Guided Tour in Northern Ireland.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Northern Highlights Full-Day Guided Tour in Northern Ireland?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Northern Highlights Full-Day Guided Tour in Northern Ireland.

Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Traveller Tips


  • "If you get carsick definitely take some medicine before hand as the roads or windy and sit in the front!" See review
  • "Privet tours are the only way to do it and it save you time, compared to group tours." See review
  • "If you only have a day or two in Belfast, I highly recommend hiring Fergel as your guide." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
83 reviews

Reviews by Viator travellers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 83 reviews
star-5
Lovely adventure
Stacy_K
, May 2022
The best part of travel is meeting the people and learning about the area. Fergal was a fabulous guide, taking us to spots like the Andrew Jackson home, that we had not known about. We had a beautiful day to be out and about and are going home with a long list of places to come back and visit when we have more time.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there Stacy and thank you so much for your generosity and your friendship last weekend on our trip around all that is good about my part of the Emerald Isle. It was my pleasure to show you both the highlights of the amazing Causeway Coastal Route and the lovely Glens of Antrim. Hopefully when you come back to continue your travels, you will invite me to be your host. Happy onward travels my friend until we meet again!
star-5
a great experience with...
Ruksana_P
, May 2022
a great experience with such amazing views,great tour guide,good information,enjoyed every moment,recommend to anyone
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello there Ruksana and Pollie and thank you for such a nice review on our trip yesterday along our amazing Causeway Coastal Route and the lovely Glens of Antrim. Now that you have been immersed on what my part of Ireland has to offer, I look forward to welcoming you back soon for the next chapter. Hoping all went well at the passport office Ruksana and that further global adventures await. Thank you my friends.
star-5
A day well spent!
Bruce_A
, May 2022
Wonderful day trip with a terrific guide. A day well spent. Travel where the buses can’t go and learn about the land as it is and was.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hey Bruce and Terrie and thank you so much for your kindness here and for your amazing review. I'm minded Bruce of your term 'bucolic' regarding the lovely places we travelled to on your recent trip. I'm humbled by your words here and would dearly love to see you both again on this side of the Atlantic. If not, then thank you my friends for being such an amazing part of my life. Safe onward travels my friends.
star-5
Perfect tour and guide
cgood17aolcom
, May 2022
Fergal was an incredible guide in all aspects. Very clean and nice car. Personable and knowledgeable. Well worth it.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. Hopefully see you again soon my friends. Car in for some much needed work soon, but we had a great time and an incredible time again!
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Warm and welcoming tour!
Kendall_W
, Apr 2022
My partner and I had a great time! It was a lovely and personalized tour! Led by Fergal, who is very knowledgeable about Northern Ireland. He showed us sites that we would never had found on our own! He was very comfortable and felt like family. We will definitely be recommending this tour to our friends and families!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hey there my beautiful friends and thank you so much for such an honest and amazing review of our day together. Thank you too for your patience with my car issues and your appreciation of the Irish weather that hovered over us throughout the day but struck only when on our journey back to Belfast. Indeed the day felt like one enjoyed by amazing family members and thank you for shining a spotlight on the essence of being Irish...being family! And how wonderful of you both to gift me with such a generous envelope from RMS Titanic Hotel, Belfast. Godspeed my friends and hope to see you again soon!
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Excellent day
Ian_C
, Feb 2022
Great and enjoyable day. Our guideFrugal was very friendly , knowledgeable & accommodating. Highly recommended.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Hi there Ian and Maria, thanks for such a lovely review. The storm threw everything it could at us, but I agree with you that the day was all the more special for all that drama and that Maria in particular seemed to love it. Hope all goes well back in Russia with Maria and that you can both come back again to my little part of Ireland for more adventures. Safe travels my friends and see you soon.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
AMAZING EXPERIENCE!!
Rebekah_K
, Feb 2022
If you want to see the Northern coast of Ireland and all it has to offer this is the tour for you. It was luxurious in all comparison instead of being crammed onto a tour bus. Fergal is one of the most knowledgeable history buffs on the island. He was friendly, kind and as welcoming as visiting a family member on holiday. Fergal will go above and beyond in order to make the tour a once in a lifetime experience. We had the privilege of seeing every season Ireland has to offer, from partly sunny skies to squalls of snow and hail with high gale force winds. Fergal weathered us throw the storms and we felt confident and comfortable in his hands. He can navigate and manage the roads like the professional driver that he is. Fergal is also a professional photographer. The images, with the lighting and scenery he can capture on your regular old iphone were unbelievable. Fergal we thank you for such a lovely experience!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you so much Rebekah and Thomas for this amazing review. Storm Eunice - and I always thought Eunice a nice name for a grandma - threw all she could at us on the tour, but we got through it despite the odd diversion or two. I won't forget the power of those bitter winds along the Atlantic coast and the needle like hailstorms that sent us all scurrying to the warmth of the car! You were fantastic company and thanks for humouring my lame jokes and you were generous to a fault throughout the day. It delights me to share my beautiful part of Ireland with the world, and on our tour I had two gifted, shining lights as company. Thank you so much and I look forward to greeting you again some time in the not too distant future! Safe onward travels my friends.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Northern Ireland Spectacular Trip
Karen_G
, Dec 2021
Our tour guide, Fergal, arrived early in his super clean and comfortable Mercedes. He was extremely friendly and so informative throughout the day. Fergal played music relating to the areas that we visited, which was such a lovely touch. The scenery was absolutely spectacular and I would recommend this tour to everyone.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you so much guys for your amazing review. Given that we travelled on the Winter Solstice, we did pack so much into the shortest day of the year through the wonderful Glens of Antrim and Causeway Coastal Route. Thank you also for your numerous kindnesses throughout the day and I do trust that we will one day meet again to continue the spectacular journey around our beautiful Emerald Isle. May 2022 see many more amazing journeys my friends!
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Fantastic tour!
Harry_P
, Nov 2021
Tour was fantastic, we saw so many great sights of Northern Ireland that we wouldn’t have known about or found ourselves. Fergal was a great guide with incredible local knowledge and despite the rain, we had an amazing time
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thank you so much for your amazing review Harry. Disappointed with the Met Office with their faux weather review of high, dry cloud over Ireland. Nonetheless, we enjoyed momentary views of Scotland, then we were plunged once again into low cloud! I look forward to greeting yourself and Emily to our sunny shores as soon as they solve the problem at COP26 in sunny Glasgow. God speed my wonderful friends. See you both soon!
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
A real surprise.
Dolores_J
, Oct 2021
What a fantastic day we had with Fergal. The sights and scenery we were taken too were outstanding and would not have seen them on any other tour. Fergal’s knowledge of the areas made it all the more enjoyable, Thank you, Dolores and Roger.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
We had a great day out Dolores and Roger. The sun shone and the Antrim Glens shone equally, as did the distant shores of Alba (Scotland) and every turn on the road was a delight, and a surprise. So glad that you had an outstanding time. Looking forward to welcoming you back to finish the trip.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Northern Highlights Northern Ireland (September 21)
Denise_P
, Sep 2021
Very competent and interesting facts from driver Fergal. Beautiful drive. Impressive route and stops. Well worth including in any visit to NI
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Hi there Denise and Justyn and thank you so much for joining me on my Northern Highlights tour. I'm glad you've returned safely to lovely Dorset and really hope that we can meet again for another great day out in this beautiful part of the world.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Fabulous private tour
Alexandra_M
, Aug 2020
We had a fabulous time with Fergal. The tour is perfectly paced, takes you to multiple hidden gems on the Northern Irish coastline, and we never felt rushed. Fergal is a very knowledgeable and thoughtful guide who takes great care to ensure that the tour is tailored to your interests. It is an amazing introduction to Irish history and culture.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Hi again both of you and thank you so much for being with me on my first journey in over six months after such a difficult and challenging period for our travel industry and for travellers worldwide. You were super guests, engaging and appreciative all day long. I enjoyed your company from the moment we met outside your hotel and I really was genuinely sad to say farewell to you both. Keep in touch in the months and years ahead. More adventures await and I would love to be your host for all of them. Keep safe and keep travelling my friends. I'll be here waiting you both. Thank you!
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Mesmerising
abhinit17
, Oct 2019
It's just awesome, game of thrones or none game of thrones fan one must do this trip. It's absolutely fantastic and shows real life of northern Ireland Worth every penny from the car to the locations to the guide , make sure you book in advance and just enjoy It's complete fun and private trip Fragey will take you to places where there is no visitors in 99 percent of the trip so what you would see you won't see with any travel operators Thanks Fragey, see you soon
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hello again Vee and thank you so much for taking you and your mama on this trip with me. It was an absolute delight to welcome you both to my amazing place. Come back soon my friend. Thank you from Fergal.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Don't miss this tour!
Mallory L
, Oct 2019
My husband and I took this tour with Fergal. He picked us up at the cruise terminal and off we went. We saw everything Fergal could show us in the short port day we had there. We went through the backroads and saw things no one else did that day. It was incredible and the scenery was breathtaking. This is more of an intimate tour which is what I wanted. I didn't want to be on a coachbus. If you get carsick definitely take some medicine before hand as the roads or windy and sit in the front! I was fine but those roads are windy. I would highly recommend skipping the Giant's Causeway and having Fergal take you to more local spots. The causeway was something we wanted to see and it was a nightmare. When we come back to Northern Ireland we will definitely do this tour again!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hi there you lovely people and thank you so much for such an amazing review of your time here in my beautiful land. I hope that your journey wasn't too scary on our amazing backroads, but then I know that you trusted me with the driving. May you have many other amazing journeys and may I welcome both of you back soon to my delightful part of Ireland. Safe travels my beautiful friends!
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Fantastic tour.
Janet_F
, Sep 2019
If you want a great tour with a guide who is an expert of the area this is the one for you. He drove us to beautiful locations to enjoy without the crowds you get so tired of. We saw many of the spots where “Game of Thrones” were filmed along with several other locations that a normal tour would never go, not to mention a fabulous lunch.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi there Jan, this trip is an experience with a consummate professional and not a 'driver'. Thank you for your five star trip my lovely friend and I look forward to seeing you and your partner some time soon in my beloved Ireland.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
The best of Northern Ireland
Marisa_W
, Sep 2019
Excellent tour. Off the beaten path of tourists with amazing views and places that only a local can show you. Awesome day. Can’t say enough good things about this tour. For sure the highlight of our trip to Ireland.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Terrific Tour with Fergal!
George_B
, Sep 2019
We had a great tour with Fergal in his Mercedes! It was a wonderful tour of great sites in Northern Ireland. Fergal really knows his way around this route, showing us all the sites. He's a great driver and was very friendly. When a local celebration had some roads closed, he took a detour without losing a beat and kept us on track to see everything on the tour. He is well known to the locals along the route, who gave us great service at every turn. I would definitely recommend Fergal for this tour!
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
The Emerald Isle
Diane_L
, Aug 2019
Furgal was our guide for the day and this was hands down the best tour we had while on the Island of Ireland. He went above and beyond to ask questions to get to know a little about our interests and thus tailored the tour for us. It was a beautiful sunny day and we now understand why Ireland is known as "The Emerald Island". We saw 100's of shades of green at any one time looking over the countryside hills and landscape. We saw off the beaten path places that were truly enchanting. I am so happy we took this tour and if we ever return to Ireland, will do it again and ask for Furgal once again.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-2
Misleading, we didn't get a private tour and missed many stops
Julia_S
, Jul 2019
We booked the private tour of Belfast months in advance. The day before we contacted Fergal to confirm pickup and were told that one of their two vehicles had broken down and we would be joined by another couple. He said the same thing happened to two other couples two days earlier and they got along fine, saying it wouldn't be a problem. He told us that he was unavailable to personally lead this tour, which was unfortunate as we had read good reviews, but assured us that the other guides (his partners) were just as capable. On the day, we found out that our tour guide (I use this term loosely) did not work for Fergal's company, but was hired to drive us, using his own personal vehicle. The driver was friendly and polite, but missed many of the stops. We missed lunch as the other couple delayed us. We did miss several stops that we had wanted to see like the famed Dunluce castle. There wasn't any running commentary/ history about any of the sites. He nice but what was delivered is not what was advertised for this tour. Overall the day was okay, but didn’t meet our expectations based on the description of this tour. We did not receive the private tour we had booked (or offered a discount), and missed most of the advertised stops on the itinerary.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
There are no indicators in your review of when this trip took place, your details or if there were mitigating factors on the itinerary. I will be reporting this review as fraudulent and/or misleading.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-3
Northern Highlights-Belfast
Diane_F
, Jun 2019
This would have been an amazing trip except for the fact that at the last minute the guide had to be replaced. He was great but had no knowledge of the sights that we were seeing so basically we had a great driver.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. As we operate as a small supplier, our aim is always to provide an experience that is of the highest quality, integrity and enjoyment. Unfortunately on this occasion our lead guide Fergal was unable to provide our usual five star service. We deeply regret that your day did not meet with your (and our) high expectations. I have noted your comments about our driver on the day and will pass them on to him as soon as possible. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Ireland and that you will consider our five star service next time!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Northern Highlights Full-Day Guided Tour in Northern Ireland
Northern Highlights Full-Day Guided Tour in Northern Ireland

star-583

6 to 8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$226.04

star-00

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
US$79.93

star-52

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$624.42

star-51

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$199.81

star-52

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$618.18

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$131.88

star-51

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$299.72

star-55

5 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
US$561.98

star-00

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$561.98
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations