Recent Searches
Clear

Gettysburg Battlefield Self-Guided Driving Tour

star-4.5323 reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Gettysburg, United States
Gettysburg Battlefield Self-Guided Driving Tour

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
0 Adults1 Adult
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 to 4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Fully immerse yourself in Gettysburg—site of one of the Civil War’s most important battles—with a self-led audio driving tour. This flexible option, which includes a GPS map, audio narration, and online support, can be downloaded after purchasing, and never expires. Set off at a time that works best for you; drive to key battle locations, monuments, and more; and learn all about those three pivotal days of fighting from the narration.
  • This flexible, self-led tour option is great for independent travelers
  • Explore Gettysburg’s key battle sites and landmarks in comfort
  • The in-depth audio narration helps bring the history to life
  • Buy just one tour for the whole car, and use as often as you’d like
Saved to wishlist!
GPS Map
Audios and Text
Online Support
Admission to Paid Attractions
Entry Tickets
Gettysburg Heritage Center , 297 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA

After booking the tour, please make sure that you have downloaded the app and the tour in advance. For the best experience, we advise doing this while you have a strong internet connection.

Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
4/10/2020 - 7/11/2023
Monday - Sunday:06:00 AM - 11:30 PM
125 Taneytown Rd , 125 Taneytown Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • No expiration — The tour comes with lifetime validity!
  • Most travellers can participate
  • After booking the tour, please make sure that you have downloaded the app and the tour in advance. For the best experience, we advise doing this while you have a strong internet connection.
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Adventures Abroad
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Gettysburg Battlefield Self-Guided Driving Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Gettysburg Battlefield Self-Guided Driving Tour.

Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
323 reviews

Reviews by Viator travellers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 323 reviews
star-5
Made you feel like you there
Donald_D
, Jul 2022
Extremely detailed tour. Very well done and narrated. My kids commented that it made them feel like they were actually part of the battle. It was a little long but only because we wanted to see everything. It took about 3-1/2 hours.
star-5
Great Overview of the Battles of Gettysburg
Kelly_C
, Jul 2022
The app worked great and was very informative.once We started our day at the National Military Park Visitors Center and checked out the film and museum and then used the app to tour the area. It was nice to be able to stop and go as we pleased and we even broke in the middle of the tour for lunch. Was just what we were looking for.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks Kelly! I'm glad you could go from the National Park’s Visitor Center to the Gettysburg Heritage Center (where this tour begins) without any trouble. And I’m thrilled you enjoyed the flexibility and convenience of my self-guided tour so much!
star-4
Good tour
Roseanna_H
, Jun 2022
Lots of information. I found it hard to pay attention at times due to the driving aspect. A few of the roads weren’t clearly labeled so a few turns were missed. Good into to Gettysburg though.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks so much! I hope to see you on one of my other self-guided tours in the future.
star-4
Great experience
Lara_D
, Jun 2022
The views of the battlefield and fences memorized me. Hearing the true story while looking over the fields or cliffs helped picture what really happened on those three days of battle.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
That's fantastic to hear Lara! Please let me know if there is anything I can do to improve the tour and earn it that extra star next time. Hope you check out my other self-guided tours on your future travels.
star-5
Great experience! Had a...
James_L
, Jun 2022
Great experience! Had a great time and the explanations were very good concenring the the historical stops.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thanks so much James! I also have self-guided tours for other parks as well as scenic drives, cities, and historic sites — hopefully you’ll get the chance to try them next time!
star-1
Disappointing app
Patricia_F
, Jun 2022
The app kept resetting itself to the beginning. Stopped using it after we were directed to a detour around stop 12(?) and another reset occurred and we were lost.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi Patricia, I’d love to know more! It is important to follow the route as directed (visiting sites out of order would cause stories to play over). Was that the issue here? I’d happy to make this right via refund or exchange — please reach out via the contact info in my app!
star-5
The visit to Seminary...
Alan_B
, Jun 2022
The visit to Seminary Ridge and little round top with narration explaining the sequence of events. The GPS guided tour was very well organized and worked very well.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thanks so much Alan! I'm delighted that you had a good time on my tour of Gettysburg— both battlefield and beyond. I hope you'll consider my other audio tours for future travels.
star-4
The narrative was a great...
Lynn_B
, Jun 2022
The narrative was a great way to see the entire site. We were able to experience it in the comfort of our car. It was difficult finding the start.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thanks so much Lynn! I hope you try out my Ghost of Battlefield Driving & Downtown Gettysburg Walking Tour or nearby Antietam Battlefield Driving Tour if you’re still in Gettysburg — or my other tours on your future travels!
star-5
Love Gettysburg!
Renee_H
, Jun 2022
This was great! We went at our own pace, took a break for lunch, walked around and then went back to continue! We didn’t feel rushed and didn’t have to sit with a bunch of strangers, I’m sure the guided bus tour was great too but this was way better!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
That sounds like a perfect trip! It’s everything I aim for when creating my self-guided tours :) I hope you consider my other tours on your future travels!
star-5
The auto tour
Regina_H
, Jun 2022
I think the seminary tour was the best. It is a good way to end the tour to appreciate everything that you've learned on the driving tour
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thanks, Regina, it’s great to get some love for the Seminary Ridge tour! As a smaller, more specific, walking tour, it’s often overlooked because of the focus on the overall battlefield — but it tells the stories of some amazing individuals! I hope you try out my other tours on your future travels!
star-3
Good technology and...
Debra_A
, Jun 2022
Good technology and information, but a bit confusing at times, especially how to get started. Wasn't sure where the beginning was and sometimes we felt confused.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thanks for the feedback Debra! The tour begins right from the Gettysburg Heritage Center’s parking lot. I’ve tried to mention that in multiple places and provide driving directions there. If there’s more I can do, please let me know!
star-5
Gettysburg self-guided driving tour
Bob_P
, Jun 2022
This was our first tour with an Action TourGuide app, and once we got the hang of it, it worked very well. We highly recommend starting the day at the Visitors Center with the film, Cyclorama and museum.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
That’s great to hear! I’m so glad you enjoyed the tour and the app. Another great option to begin the day is the Gettysburg Heritage Center (museum, movie, gift shop, and superb staff) and it has the added benefit of being the starting point of the tour! I hope you give my other tours a try on your future trips!
star-4
Rough start but great experience
Melissa_A
, May 2022
I was a little frustrated at first when trying to get it started because it didn't start where we were. It was mostly user error for that part. It did great picking up where we were and going from there. So my tour started in the middle but was able to do the complete tour even if it didn't start at the beginning. Loved the narration and would have loved to have a little more personal stories, loved the statue and story that included the dog.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
I’m glad you were able to enjoy the whole tour eventually! The tour starts at the Gettysburg Heritage Center — and you can still listen to the intro stories that you missed because the tour is valid for a lifetime. Let me know if you have any questions!
star-2
Information good but a lot of technical difficulties
Alissa_F
, May 2022
They kept not knowing where we were and we kept getting lost. So it ruined it for us. This is very annoying
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Location tracking permissions must be “accepted” at the start — that’s the only way the tour will know where you are. If you have any questions, please call/chat/email or check out the FAQ.
star-4
Gettysburg
Shanna_M
, May 2022
Once we found the starting point, everything ran smoothly. The tour shared information and took us last places that I know we would have missed if we had done the tour on our own.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Wonderful! I'm so thrilled you had a good time and that everything worked seamlessly. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to improve the tour and earn it that extra star!
star-5
Fun day at Gettysburg
Howie_B
, May 2022
Amazing. Great info and pacing. The tour allows you to pause, get out, explore, and get back in the car and continue without missing a beat. It's like having a professional tour guide right there with you.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Wow - thanks Howie! Couldn’t ask for better feedback. I'm so glad you loved the flexibility and convenience of my self-guided tour. I hope you have the chance to try some of my other tours on your future travels.
star-5
Educational and beautiful
Melinda_W
, May 2022
It was all very interesting and educational. The battlefield is beautiful and really made one feel the realness of the Civil War. We enjoyed being able to follow the app and listen to the info.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
That’s so great to hear! Gettysburg was a pivotal battle during the Civil War. I'm delighted we were able to give your battlefield knowledge a little more depth, and I'm so glad that you had such a good time on my self-guided tour. I hope you'll try some of my other self-guided tours the next time you travel!
star-5
The app was an excellent...
Dwayne_B
, May 2022
The app was an excellent guide and it was easy to follow. At each point it was very informative. I would highly recommend the app as it is a fantastic value at $9.99.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks so much Dwayne! I'm thrilled that my tour added so much to your Gettysburg experience. When you plan your next trip, we hope you’ll keep me in mind —I have more self-guided tours across the country. Thanks again!
star-5
Walking in the steps of history
Kevin_B
, May 2022
Standing on this hallowed ground and trying to imagine what these combatants were experiencing. Knowing you were standing in the footsteps of these Americans all.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
A perfect description of the Gettysburg experience — thanks, Kevin! We’re honored to be able to tell their stories. We have more self-guided tours like this one all over the country. Hope you try them on your next vacation.
star-1
Waste of time.
WILLIAM_P
, May 2022
Being totally frustrated and driving in circles. Wasn't clear on starting point, so would have to click on directions, which takes you out of the app and into Google maps. This happened all day. Wasted so much time trying to figure it out and we are not stupid people. Definitely taking bus tour next time. Also found out the visitors center has free auto tour app. Maybe that would have been better.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi WILLIAM, we are available to support you every single day for exactly this reason! Please reach out and tell us what went wrong. We’d love to help.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Gettysburg Battlefield Self-Guided Driving Tour
Gettysburg Battlefield Self-Guided Driving Tour

star-4.5323

2 to 4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$9.99

star-4.529

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
US$9.99

star-4.5336

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
US$24.99

star-430

14 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
US$24.00

star-4.5150

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
US$24.95

star-4.5111

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
US$19.95
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations