Recent Searches
Clear

Animated Crime Walking Tour in Old Quebec

star-4.5180 reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Québec, Canada
Animated Crime Walking Tour in Old Quebec

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Discover the darkest years of New France on an animated, 90-minute, crime walking tour in Old Quebec. Follow ghostly guides — the executioner Jean Rattier and his wife Marie Rivière — to learn about the details of terrible crimes, arrests and executions that happened in Quebec City centuries ago. Walk the city streets after dark and discover the many secrets of this historic and haunted neighborhood.
  • Enjoy a haunted tour of Old Quebec
  • Walk the city streets with character guides in costume
  • Learn about the city’s sordid past
  • Available in English and French
Saved to wishlist!
Live entertainment
Gratuities
Morrin Centre , 44 Chau. des Écossais, Québec, QC G1R 4H3, Canada

The meeting point is in front of the Morrin Centre (44, Chaussée des Écossais) at 8pm.

2/12/2022 - 12/3/2022
Monday - Sunday:08:00 PM - 09:30 PM
2/12/2023 - 12/3/2023
Monday - Sunday:08:00 PM - 09:30 PM
Quebec City Mural , 29 Rue Notre-Dame, Québec, QC G1K 4E9, Canada
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Availability for shows cannot be checked without making a booking. Credit cards will only be charged upon confirmation of show availability
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travellers
  • OPERATED BY Les Promenades Fantomes
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Animated Crime Walking Tour in Old Quebec?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Animated Crime Walking Tour in Old Quebec.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Animated Crime Walking Tour in Old Quebec?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Animated Crime Walking Tour in Old Quebec.

Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Traveller Tips


  • "Punishments were not for the weak of heart, torture was the norm and both the French and British were very good at it." See review

Reviews by Viator travellers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
180 reviews

Reviews by Viator travellers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 180 reviews
star-5
Great family fun!
Russ_K
, Aug 2022
Mary-Anne stayed in character the entire time and gave us a slice of 17th century Quebec City. It was a nice blend of facts, humor, and the macabre. The whole fam had a great time!
star-5
Amazing experience!
Nella_H
, Aug 2022
Our guide was absolutely wonderful and engaging and entertaining. We couldn't imagine it being any better.
star-2
We asked for an English...
William_G
, Aug 2022
We asked for an English speaking guide we expected to get one. Though Allison tried it was not an enjoyable time. This tour was not what we expected.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Bonjour M. Glandorf, Thank you for your comment and we are sorry if the quality of the english of your guide didn't meet your expectations. You are right, the level of English of our sparkling Alysson is not high, but she has the merit and desire to be better and imporve her 2nd language. She's in the first rounds of english tours and she must gain experience to improve. It's not giving to everyone a good expression in Molière's language, especially in a French speaking province Thanks for your understanding and we hope you had a great time in Quebec city.
star-5
Dark history shed light upon
Margot_S
, Jul 2022
Great story telling and history! Also a nice city tour. Kids and grownups alike were thoroughly left with quite an impression of the gritty city streets and under history that doesn’t often come to light.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thank you so much!
star-5
A wonderful experience!
Brandon_G
, Jul 2022
Jean was a wonderful guide! He brought great energy and a wealth of knowledge. The tour was fun and covered places and events you won't find on other tours. Highly recommend!!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you so much! We are happy to know your appreciation! We hope to see you again
star-5
Great tour
Daniel_M
, Jul 2022
The stories were amazing and true and the cast stayed in character the whole time! Amazing tour! Highly recommended!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you so much! We hope to se you again.
star-1
Not worth it!
Chantal_B
, Jul 2022
Boring! Too much talk about priests and churches. Just didn’t like it, that is my personal opinion. Sorry!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for tour comment but Îm confused, we are not talking about priests and churchs during this tour… Could you give me some example?
star-5
ghoulish fun
Chris_L
, Jun 2022
Our guide had amusingly ghoulish tales and got the group acting parts out in very amusing ways. Great way to learn bits of lurid trivia about the streets we have walked, and to have fun with other tourists. But: don't be like me and my wife and forget to bring cash for a tip, because your guide will surely be deserving of a good one!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you so much for this appréciation.We Hope to see you again.
star-5
The most fun I’ve had with an executioner.
Susan_W
, Jun 2022
Fun evening with an executioner. We loved the true crime stories but would also have loved some ghost stories as well.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you so much!
star-5
A fun walk
Andrew_B
, May 2022
Very nice tour guide. Knowledgeable, polite and fun. Was very educational and it did not disappoint.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you so much!
star-5
More than we expected lol
wvanwood
, May 2022
We couldn't stop laughing throughout the tour. She really gives you your moneys worth! 🤩 We heard a lot about how the law worked and what happened to criminals back in the day! Rather a wild time in history! As Canadians we can be proud of the changes lol
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you so much for this very Nice comment about your expérience. We hope to see you again
star-2
Not Much Fun
Michael_L
, Apr 2022
We travelled to Montreal and Quebec City with our twin 14 year old grandsons. As they are both in the French Immersion program (and have been since kindergarten) at school we booked the tour in French. On the day of the tour one of the boys was not feeling well so he did not attend. Up to this time the boys had been using their french to communicate with shop keepers and restaurant staff with good success and received compliments on their language skills. Our tour guide spoke very quickly and had less than perfect enunciation which made our grandson uncomfortable. After a brief introduction it beacame apparent that the experince would not be good for our grandson so we asked if we could join the english tour. We were told this was not possible even though both tours were still at the intial meeting place. We then asked if the guide could speak a little slower and he indicated he would but he did not slow down. We believe he was afraid that the other people in the group would be upset if he catered to our needs. The tour was interactive but not once did the tour guide attempt to engage our grandson in conversation. All in all a very poor experience. We realize we made an error in booking a french tour but when we requested a change to english or at least speaking slower and enunciating more clearly there was no accomodation.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Sir, Reading your comment, I understand that your experience has not lived up to your expectations. We use an Old French to guide our tours, it's part of the experience. It is essential to have a high level of French to understand well and that is why my colleague contacted you to validate that you wanted to have the tour in French. Regarding your request to change groups, there was unfortunately a lack on our side , it would have been possible for you to change to go to the English group, if it was closer than you. Our guide will be informed for the future We are very sorry about that. We hope you still had a pleasant time in our beautiful city.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour
heather_b
, Apr 2022
Great tour with Marie (Valerie). Very entertaining, informative and funny too. Pretty spooky and great way to spend our last evening in old town Quebec.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you so much!
star-2
Overall recommend with some cautions.
SHELLEY_C
, Mar 2022
The tour guide was excellent! She kept the kids and us engaged throughout the tour. Areas for improvement: We did not know that the tour would end significantly further than where the tour started. It was late in the evening on a fairly cold night. The kids were cold at the end and were not happy when we found out we had to walk back 15-20 minutes back to the car where we had parked. Would have liked a little more info of the overall key places in Quebec city - loved the stories but understanding a little more about key places would have been even better. I would recommend others taking the tour as long as you dress appropriately, be prepared to walk back to your starting point on your own and the content is a little dark for kids (our kids were 10 and 11 years - and were fine but not for everyone).
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your comment. You mentionned this : We did not know that the tour would end significantly further than where the tour started. but we send you a confirmation email with this information : The departure of the tour is in front of the Morrin Center, on 44 Chaussée des Écossais Street in Quebec City (Upper Town). This Link will show you a map of the meeting point. Please note that the tour will last around 90 MINUTES and will end in the Lower Town, at Place Royale. If you have a car, we suggest parking it near that area to avoid having to go back up in Upper Town after. Maybe this message have been unread, we are so sorry about the situation.
star-5
Cheerful and entertaining
Tasnuva_A
, Dec 2021
Fiona was excellent. She was our guide when we did Morrin Center Prison tour in October 2021. We were very delighted to see her again. She is very entertaining, enthusiastic, with a radiant positivity that is infectious. Our tour day was very snowy with slippery roads, but she made everything very comfortable and super-fun!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you so much about this review. Your right! Fiona is so funtastic! We hope to see you on your next trip in Quebec.
star-5
Entertaining and Educational
Alex_M
, Oct 2021
Great experience, very entertaining host! Due the terrain of Quebec City not great for anyone with mobility issues.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thaks a lot to take a moment to send a review. We appreciate and hope to see you again
star-5
Fun interactive walking tour
Kayla_Z
, Oct 2021
Funny and informative walking tour. Our guide was great. The tour is interactive and you really do walk across old Quebec City.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you so much. We hope to see you again for another funny moment with our ghostly guide.
star-2
Slow, boring and historically dubious
Justin_E
, Oct 2021
Slow, boring, historically dubious and unnecessarily sexualized. We brought our 15 year old son on the walk because it was listed as family friendly. We knew the content would include grim elements from Quebec’s history... what we didn’t know is that the tour guide/actress would make a joke about “hair pie” and it would go on and on and on for 20 minutes! The entire adult crowd kept repeating the joke. “I bet they’d like a piece of Carol’s PIE! HAHAHAHAHA!” Not once or twice or three times...over and over from stop to stop. Pie pie pie. Yes, we all know what pie is a nickname for. Well. Now our son has heard it repeated by 10 adults about 50 times as if it’s the funniest joke in the world. In addition, the woman running our tour was light on history and heavy on puns, bad jokes and repeating the phrase “Let’s just say...” over and over again. She had a smarmy attitude and repeated everything 3-4 times. Slow, boring and repetitious. Her basic understanding of history was fine but she heavily editorialized. The result was something more like an episode of Drunk History. Let’s just say this pie-obsessed 90 minute walk sucked.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for your comment I'm surprised about what you mention. This guide work with us since more than 3 years and always received some great reviews from customers.Our activity is very popular and appreciate by couples and families. In this type of activity, it is often the customers who create the atmosphere of the tour...maybe you just weren't compatible. I'm sorry if that wasn't what you expected and I hope you enjoyed your stay in Quebec.
star-5
Must do!
Jason_G
, Sep 2021
Very entertaining from start to finish. History & humor together. My wife and I give it a 10/10. Lots of walking/stairs so make sure your capable of walking hills and stairs.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you for this review and we hope to see you again
star-5
Not scary but informative
Gregory_L
, Sep 2021
We went in the pouring rain, the animator she is the best, she stayed in carecter the hole time. And very informative. Don't forget to tip the actor, they deserve it.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you for this review! ;-)

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Animated Crime Walking Tour in Old Quebec
Animated Crime Walking Tour in Old Quebec

star-4.5178

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
US$18.27

star-51635

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$25.42

star-51

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
US$9.78

star-4.587

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$27.51

star-4.557

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
US$31.62

star-4320

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
US$45.65

star-516

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$33.77

star-00

2 hours 50 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
US$35.75

star-5317

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
US$93.35
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations