Recent Searches
Clear

Aqaba Shore Excursion: Private Petra Sightseeing Tour with Lunch

|
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Aqaba Shore Excursion: Private Petra Sightseeing Tour with Lunch
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon8 to 12 hours  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

When your cruise ship docks in Aqaba, take a private full-day shore excursion to Petra. Traveling past Wadi Rum and the Sharah Mountains by air-conditioned car or minivan, arrive at this rose-red city, carved by the Nabataeans some 2,000 years ago. Tour the highlights with a local guide; walking through the Siq canyon to witness the Treasury, tombs, amphitheater and Roman street. Learn about Petra’s history, and afterward, savor lunch at a local restaurant. Enjoy a flexible itinerary, with the opportunity to customize your sightseeing to your interests.
  • Travel by Jordan's Wadi Rum and Sharah Mountains to the ancient, UNESCO-listed rock city
  • Discover the spectacular rock-hewn monuments with a knowledgeable local guide
  • Walk through the Siq canyon and see the Treasury, amphitheater and other sites
  • Learn why and how the Nabataeans built the city 2,000 years ago
  • Refuel with lunch at a local restaurant
  • Enjoy a flexible itinerary and personalised attention from a Petra guide
Saved to wishlist!
Port pickup and drop-off
English speaking driver
Local guide for 2 hours (French, German, Spanish, and other languages available
Lunch
Water & soft drinks
Although guide ( for 8 Passengers tour option only)
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Gratuities
Aqaba port
12:00 PM
Pick up from cruise terminal ( inside the terminal -next to your cruise ship)
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Infants (ages 0-3) are free
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • Passport name, number, expiry and country is required at time of booking for all participants
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Red Rock Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Tips


  • "This is an excellent way to see Petra if you have mobility issues, as we did, or if you don't want to be herded around with a large group." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
18 Reviews
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews
star-5
Our driver met us at the dock and...
Lynn L
, Jul 2018
Our driver met us at the dock and drove us to Petra, stopping partway there at a store that carries goods made by local women at a cooperative started by Queen Noor Lisa Halaby, who is still revered there. At Petra, we were turned over to a local guide, who loaded us into a 2-person carriage so we could get down the passage. I think he walked the distance at about the same speed. Please, believe all the stories they tell you about the carriage ride and how dangerous it is. Pedestrians, however, are equally at risk as the carriages careen down the passageway or back up again. It was a very windy day with lots of dust, and I needed a scarf wound around my nose and mouth to be able to survive. Petra itself is every bit as wonderful as it's said to be. However, we saw only a little of it due to heat and limited time. When we got back to the top, our driver was ready to take us to the buffet lunch that was included. If you have the choice, take something to eat for lunch and skip the buffet - it would give you at least another hour in Petra. The driver got us back to the ship in time for our sailing. Very nice young man, married with a 4-year-old son. We asked to see pictures and the boy is so adorable! This is an excellent way to see Petra if you have mobility issues, as we did, or if you don't want to be herded around with a large group. Highly recommended!
3 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
This was a really satisfying tour...
gcrogers49
, Oct 2017
This was a really satisfying tour. My wife and I had always wanted to see Petra and our tour provided an insightful and comfortable way to do it. We were met at the port one step away from the ship by the representative and taken to the car and driver that drove us to Petra approx. 2 hours. The ride was comfortable and our driver pointed out a number of intersting things during the ride. Once we arrived at the site, we were given our tickets by the driver who then introduced us to our guide. The walk to the Treasury building that is often used as a picture for the site took about an hour. Our guide stopped along the way to show us many of the antiquities. He was pleasant and his delivery of the information was easy to follow. The sights along the walk to the Treasury building were spectacular and well worth the long trek to the site. Viator, in selecting this company for our tour, made a great decision! The experience was awe inspiring.
star-5
Great excursion. Our driver was...
Susan G
, Aug 2017
Great excursion. Our driver was great. The guide at Petra was great, and we had a nice lunch at a local restaurant. It couldn't have been a better trip, and we knew we were in good hands and would get back to the ship in time.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour but chose time of year...
sweetvaiolette
, Jul 2017
Great tour but chose time of year wisely - not Summer. Temps over 100 and sun blazing. Walk each way down and back up path to temple around an hour with rickety horse carriages racing up and down the path crowding you out and vendors with cheap junky items selling their wares. We had a GREAT private tour guide. Would have liked to do extended walk about it but was way too hot for most to endure. Additional horseback ride on Arabians, challanging racey and definitely not for any but good riders. Camel rides near temple. Side trip to Wadi Run very nice kind of like Momument Valley in USA and bumpy back of truck tour if you are really sturdy enough.
star-4
We had a party of 5 and were met by...
gladyslantien
, Jun 2017
We had a party of 5 and were met by a small van and driver who was very friendly and informative during the drive to Petra, stopping at a store to use the bathroom and look at items for sale, both ways. It was about a 2 hour drive out of the Port in Aqaba where the Majestic Princess docked and we were able to spend several hours in Petra with a local guide who spoke English well, was very courteous and had historical knowledge. This guide walked with us all the way into the Great Temple going to the Monastery would have taken more time than we had, he left us there and we took our own time walking out, browsing at the shopping stalls, and taking photos. My parents took a horse and carriage into the Treasury and out because they are unable to walk that far, and gained as much information about Petra from the museum at the entrance as we did with our guide. Lunch at a local restaurant was included food was good, drinks were warm soda and water, shared with 2-3 other busloads of tourists. Compared to the Princess Tours, we liked the small van, personal service, slightly cheaper than the large bus Princess Tour, and we would recommend this Viator tour. It was really hot but that was unavoidable given that we were coming from the port and were on the ship's timetable. Next time, we would stay longer, go see the wadi rum and go scuba diving in the Red Sea.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
This tour was one of the highlights...
patquan
, Jun 2017
This tour was one of the highlights of our holiday. The driver and the tour guide were top notch. They went out of their way to make sure our day was special. We arrived a little early into port and the driver was waiting. He was helpful with info on the area and it made the drive to Petra very entertaining. The guide was very experienced. The restaurant was very good. There was a large bus group from a University there and the restaurant handled the large group well. The food was very good. We highly recommend this tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Just Brilliant, words can't do it...
loriireland48
, May 2017
Just Brilliant, words can't do it justice, a wonderful day and a great guide Adnan.......just do it it's a must
star-5
Since we were unable to schedule...
denise p
, May 2017
Since we were unable to schedule Abdullah Nawafleh for a private tour we appreciated Radwan as our guide, he even took us shopping since our luggage had been delayed for over 2 weeks!! He was knowledgeable about the culture and spoke American English quite well. We were very disappointed we couldn't have him as our guide for the historic Petra area they are assigned within the Petra site What a difference a good guide makes!!!
star-5
Guide was amazing, had a long history...
Leonard K
, Dec 2016
Guide was amazing, had a long history with the sight and was very informative.
star-5
This experience was as advertised...
Terri T
, Nov 2016
This experience was as advertised and more. We went with two other couples, six to a van and it was very comfortable. Our guide was both knowledgeable and friendly. Our driver very accommodating. Would not hesitate using this tour group again. We would highly recommend them for not only this tour but others as well
star-5
We enjoyed this tour very much...
Linda B
, Nov 2016
We enjoyed this tour very much. Organisation beforehand was easy and communication was good. The driver picked us up at our pre arranged time of 7.30 am on the dock at Aqaba. He was very helpful and friendly and gave us an insight into the culture and places of interest along the road to Petra.. The mini van was well used but clean and the air conditioning was in good working order. Petra itself is everything you have heard and more. I was surprised at the scale of the site. Our guide at Petra was excellent describing the history of the civilisations that lived there and explaining the tombs and pointing out interesting rock formations and colours. He took us away from the main pathway to view it from a different perspective. We chose to walk but horses, carriages and camels were available although some of them looked a little weary. The main track was busy and on the way back you had to dodge what horses, camels and donkeys do best! We had no problem with hawkers if you say no they go away. I had intended to climb up to the monastery but did not make it as I was limited for time and the heat was tiring so decided to keep my energy for the return walk back up to the entrance. It is a long walk in the heat along the main track to the Roman ruins. You cannot cover the whole area in a short visit. If I was going to go up to the monastery or the place of high sacrifice you probably need to go there first and wind your way back if the heat and walking. Only big downside was that the restaurant lunch was not good with dirty tablecloths and flies. Food was self service. We didn't eat much and had 3 soft drinks provided as part of the tour only they charged my husband 9 for 3 soft drinks 2 tonics and 1 Sprite. I was away from the table at this point so did not realise until we were back in the car on the way back to the ship. So not only was the restaurant terrible but they ripped us off as well!. Our driver did try to correct this by phoning the restaurant to complain about this and asked if we wanted to return to get the 9, but we were anxious to return to Aqaba and the ship as the ship was departing that evening. I have not scored the tour company down on this as I believe they tried to remedy the situation but I would think carefully about using this restaurant in future. Generally our expeience of people in Jordan was that they were friendly and helpful. Our driver was very proud of his city Aqaba which has grown substantially in recent years. We arrived back in port in good time for our departure.
star-5
Petra was a wonderful place and our...
Gary T
, May 2016
Petra was a wonderful place and our personal tour guide was great. Our only complaint was that our driver didn't speak English very well so he couldn't answer many questions about life in Jordan. That was disappointed. Otherwise, a great tour!
star-5
Even though the 'private tour' was...
mushky1986
, Oct 2015
Even though the 'private tour' was pricey- for me it was worth every penny! I have some mobility issues and I am sure I wouldn't be able to keep up with a regular tour. Our driver, Odah, was fantastic- so thoughtful, caring, friendly and a good driver. We had a different tour guide at Petra- he was also very patient with me and quite informative. The walk was difficult but I took my time. When we finally reached the treasury I was totally awed. I am so glad I was able to see this wonder of the world. We then were picked up by Odah and had a great lunch. I was very very happy with our tour!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Aqaba Shore Excursion: Private Petra Sightseeing Tour with Lunch
Likely to Sell Out
Aqaba Shore Excursion: Private Petra Sightseeing Tour with Lunch

star-518

8 to 12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$40.00

star-51

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$320.52

star-00

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$199.00

star-51

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$262.83

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$186.95

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$400.00

star-51

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$350.00

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$323.08
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations