Recent Searches
Clear
Shared | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students

Shared | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students

star-4.5133 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Safety measures
icon50 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds
Safety measures
icon50 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Don’t worry—here are some similar options


Safety measures
icon50 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Take to the water for a quintessential Cambridge experience on this punting tour. Step aboard a traditional punt and drift downstream on the Cam River, past the famous college ‘Backs’. Glide beneath the Mathematical Bridge and Bridge of Sighs; admire views of landmarks like the King's College Chapel and Trinity Hall; and listen as your guide unveils fascinating facts about the legendary university city. You can even have a go at ‘driving’ the punt yourself!
  • Punting tour in Cambridge
  • Glide down the Cam River on a traditional punt
  • Cruise past landmarks like King’s College, the Bridge of Sighs, and the Mathematical Bridge
  • Have a go at pushing and steering the punt
  • Choice of several departures throughout the day
  • Ideal introduction to Cambridge for first-time visitors
Saved to wishlist!
Local student-guide
Live commentary on board
Cushions and blankets for your comfort
See 9 famous colleges and 8 famous bridges
Free punt lesson if requested on the tour
Gratuities
Granta Moorings , 14 Newnham Rd, Cambridge CB3 9EX, UK

Meet our cashier at the meeting point who will get you booked on. Please arrive 5 minutes early.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Cambridge Alumni Tours - Pandemic Health and Safety Policy Your health is our top priority, and we have put special measures in place to keep all guests safe both during and after your activity. Stringent Cleaning - We’ve increased the frequency of disinfecting surfaces and high traffic areas between each tour, and hand sanitizer will be available to all of our guests at our starting points. Social Distancing – We have reduced maximum capacity of our tours. Guests will stay at a safe distance during all points of our walking tour and guests will be seated further apart on our punting tours. We also ensure that all staff members will be wearing the necessary PPE and sanitise between each tour. Wellness Checks - Employees receive daily wellness checks to ensure they are healthy and symptom-free. If you or anyone in your group is experiencing symptoms, we will work directly with you to cancel or reschedule your tour. Please refer to our cancellation terms.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Cambridge Alumni Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Shared | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Shared | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Shared | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Shared | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Shared | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Shared | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
133 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 133 reviews
star-5
Fabulous Tour
Ruth_C
, May 2022
We had a fabulous punting tour led by a very knowledgeable medical student. He showed us all the sights and gave us very interesting bits of information related to many of the colleges and bridges that we passed. I would definitely recommend it to others.
star-4
Excellent overview
Jonathan_S
, Apr 2022
Great guide and interesting places. Worth doing to get your bearings around the city. Not too much walking.
star-1
This cancelled by the...
m94m8bbvdm
, Feb 2022
This cancelled by the tour operators. I am still waiting for a refund. We did walk down to the river Cam and booked with operators along the river.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Hello Fiona, Your refund has already been confirmed and we did send you a text about this. We also explained on behalf of the punting company that they were forced to close on that day. Someone will be in touch with you to confirm you received your refund. We hope you will update your feedback based on this information. Kind regards, Alumni Tours
star-5
Such a perfect experience for whole family!
Nal_H
, Dec 2021
Sam our guide was very knowledgeable and VERY entertaining. He was able share a lot of information appropriate to both adults and children in a fun way. My kids (who are usually glued to screens) were happy to be out and really enjoyed the experience. Thank you for making a really lovely afternoon for us. Only small point, I would suggest if there are any delays, might be good to have a text update service, like appointment reminder system by text?
star-1
Dissatisfied
Helen_W
, Oct 2021
Arrived at Granta punting to find no one there, called the number provided on ticket and a man said you should’ve been contacted by them as it’s been cancelled. No email or call to say been cancelled so complete wasted journey. Luckily we went to another punting company. Full refund is pending.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Helen, Thank you for your review. We sent an email out to let you know that our meeting point had changed on the day but it appears that it didn't come through in time, for which you have our sincerest apologies. We have processed your full refund for the tour and hope you give us another chance in the future. Best wishes, Cambridge Alumni Tours
star-5
Fantastic experience.
Jagjit_D
, Aug 2021
A must have experience when you visit Cambridge. The guide was fun, and very knowledgable about the Cambridge colleges, bridges and their history.
star-5
worth every penny
kevin_r
, Aug 2021
Easy place to find and well organised. Guide very informative and best place to see college buildings from. thank you to our guide Murdo .
star-5
Nice complement to the walking tour
Family4
, Aug 2021
Sitting in the boat was surprisingly comfortable. Our guide Guy, Cambridge native but a student at Oxford, was friendly and shared personal and other anecdotes as well as historical tidbits about the bridges and the colleges. Some information was new, some was the same and some differed from what we heard in the walking tour the day before but we weren't writing a history book so weren't bothered.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing
Anto
, Jun 2021
Amazing experience, safe and funny. Very interesting. Beautiful sightseeings and confortable boat. Thanks!
star-5
Excellent Punting Experience
Jade_D
, Jun 2021
This was such an amazing activity. The crew were fantastic, very patient abs were super helpful. The tour was amazing, so relaxing and fun. I’m a plus sized gal and I was very worried about how my weight could tip the boat, but they were so reassuring and understanding. They all made me feel so comfortable. Very organised and well worth the tour. Would 100% recommend and would love to book again!
star-5
Relaxing and informative
Simon_B
, Jun 2021
Barney did a great job on his first day! Facts were presented with enthusiasm and was very engaging throughout.
star-5
Amazing experience. The captain of the...
Anjum D
, Oct 2017
Amazing experience. The captain of the boat was absolutely awesome.
star-3
Poorly organized agent at the meeting...
Chris h
, Sep 2017
Poorly organized agent at the meeting point has to keep checking who's there has to just remember online booking guests long wait in open sun past scheduled departure. Having a knee injury I asked if I could get a head start walking to the river - No, I'll walk slowly. When we finally did move he took off like a jack rabbit and our group we didn't know each other got strung out in the holiday crowds as he disappeared from sight. The marshalling point was in a field covered with cow patties, in open sun, and once again tickets and party sizes were checked. We were the next to last punt to board from the eroded and steep river bank, and crammed like sardines. Our chauffeur was good, with interesting banter for the mostly disinterested passengers. Despite his skill, the Backs were like dodgems and he couldn't avoid hitting/ being hit by other boats. He helped rescue poles for other drivers, and the whole trip was chaotic. Being a very hot Bank Holiday weekend, and overrun with tourists, my fiancée second visit to England cut short our Cambridge visit after this experience. I recommend to the Alumni group choosing a better meeting point away from crowds, with seats and shade, issue a colour-coded voucher once guests have checked in the first time, and can someone build a better boarding area? simple boardwalk or pier would help. Maybe the Backs need capacity controls and/ or a one-way system - drive on the right or on the left, not dodgem style. Note to ladies: wear jeans dark colour, flat shoes, a wide-brimmed hat, and don't worry about the cow dung. Not suitable for the mobility challenged or other than skinny people.
star-1
This was an awful experience. The river...
Joan B
, Aug 2017
This was an awful experience. The river was jammed with boats, many by novices flailing around. We were rammed twice, one time the boat skipping the top and hitting me. My son is 6'5 and I am 6'. Despite our size, we were squeezed onto a bench with another man and were cramping in pain half way through. Our guide spoke so softly when he wasn't flirting with the ladies at the front of the boat that we could not hear what little he shared in terms of the sights. It was truly a painful experience that I will never do again.
star-5
Having such a short stay in Cambridge...
kgourgues
, Aug 2017
Having such a short stay in Cambridge made our visit a challenge. This lovely punt tour really made the difference in our experience there. Our captain Jake made all the difference, sharing all of his interesting stories and history of the colleges. So thank you Jake! I highly recommend this boat tour to anyone visiting the Cambridge campus for the first time. Well worth the money.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
It was a fun experience. We had 2...
Aimee M
, Jul 2017
It was a fun experience. We had 2 seniors/concessions, 2 adults and 2 children age 13 and 9 and I think it was great for everyone. I would recommend a portable mike for the punter- he was lovely and entertaining but so hard to hear and no one in the back could hear him at all. I also thought it would go further down the river, it was semi-crowded and it seemed we just broke free from the crowds and turned back. But it was a great time, pleasant and entertaining.
star-5
This trip was fantastic. Rob, the guy...
Daniel G
, May 2017
This trip was fantastic. Rob, the guy who did the punting, was very intelligent, had a great sense of humor and gave us information that you would not commonly find in a guide book. It was probably the most enjoyable 50 minutes of our trip to Cambridge. It was peaceful on the water, the weather lovely. Worth it. Can only recommend.
star-2
the local operator herded the visitors...
Ashwini S
, May 2017
the local operator herded the visitors for this tour as cattle onto one Punt!..where it should accommodate 4 ppl facing each other, 12 people we were huddled into that tiny Punt, leaving us with crick in our necks....no room to even turn your head as you are stuck so tight ... Punting was to be fun and memorable but it became a sore back and neck and stiff body nightmare..when asked why cant we be accommodated like other Punts in batches of 4, answer was they have lot of people to pack for this slot so they can't....well this isn't a free service and we all paid for it and yet this is how it was organised! i hope viator does some serious talking with them...all my Viator bookings this time were a sad story!!!!
star-3
This trip was not organised, I booked...
petitepommedeterre
, May 2017
This trip was not organised, I booked and confirmed all on line. I got to the meeting point on time, but they did not have my record. I need to wait for another 1.5 hrs to join another group, which was not nice at all? When we got to the river, again, waited for another 20mins or so then could get on!!!! The Punter named Rob, he was very very good, humorous, explained and told the college stories which was interesting. We felt relaxed even it was only a short boat trip. Apart from not being organised, others should be a credit.
star-3
Check in was disorganized, with a group...
lgsoul
, Feb 2017
Check in was disorganized, with a group of guides standing around and no apparent interest in us. The guide was great, very knowledgeable and personable. It was a drizzly day and very cold, the blankets were wet, and seat so wet I was soaked through by the time the trip had finished. All that being said I would recommend a trip on a punt to anyone visiting Cambridge, preferably on a dry. warm day.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Shared | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students
Shared | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students

star-4.5133

50 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$33.17

star-5317

50 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$51.03

star-5951

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$29.34

star-5101

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.51

star-540

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.23

star-527

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$31.89

star-4.51413

45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$89.30

star-574

45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.51

Explore Similar Things to Do