Recent Searches
Clear

Whale Shark Encounter and Sumilon Sandbar with Kawasan Falls

star-4.558 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Cebu City, Philippines
Whale Shark Encounter and Sumilon Sandbar with Kawasan Falls

From $133.34

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon16 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Experience a few of Cebu’s most exciting attractions on this jam-packed private tour. First, head out onto the water to observe the world’s largest fish—the whale shark—in its natural habitat. Then it’s time for a bit of relaxing as you visit Tumalog Falls, Sumilon Island, and Kawasan Falls. Swin, sunbathe on the sand, and take photos of these incredible locations.
  • Breakfast and lunch are included in your tour
  • Upgrade your tour to snorkel with whale sharks
  • A private tour means a personalized experience
  • Enjoy round-trip transfers from the Cebu area
Saved to wishlist!
Breakfast
Lunch
Private transportation
All Fees and Taxes
Local Tour Guide in all the spots mentioned above
Towels
Optional is the snorkeling fee with the whale sharks which you can pay on the day of the tour
Camera Rental, you can rent one from us and can be paid on the day of the tour

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

4:00 AM
We can pick up from any hotels in Cebu City, Mactan, or even in the South of Cebu. We also offer pickup from the airport, sea port or any residences within Cebu or Mactan area.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Cebu Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "As others have described here, I'd advise taking a change of clothes and some aqua/water shoes." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
58 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 58 reviews
star-5
Just do it!
Irene_R
, Aug 2022
Amazing experience! Unforgetteble! Prepare for a very looonngg day, but everlasting memories! The whales, beach and waterfalls….everything was beauty at its finest.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi Irene, thank you so much for your feedback, appreciate it so much. Hope to see you again in Cebu.
star-5
A once in a lifetime experience
BartenNuria_H
, Jul 2022
Fantastic experience! Diving with the whale sharks is really something special! Also the visit to the sand-bar and the falls were spectacular!! All in all an unforgetable experience, totally recomendable!! Many thanks to our tour guide and our driver Richard, who did an excellent job!!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate it. WE are committed in giving you an unforgettable experience in Cebu.
star-5
Awesomeness with desire for more knowledge
Richard_L
, Jul 2022
Great great experience woukd not change anything except I wish the driver knew more and was able to tell us things about the area and what we passed on our 3 hour drive as it was silent woukd do the drive again fir the experience same for the tour person
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Richard, thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate it.
star-5
Excellent Tour and Guides
IrvingAriel_M
, Jul 2022
Our tour guide, Dianne (from Cebu Tours), was excellent! She stayed and guided us all throughout the tour. She was very helpful, super friendly, and went beyond expectations! The tour driver was also very accommodating and helpful. The tour was very enjoyable and memorable! Highly recommended!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We appreciate it so much. We are committed to give you the best experience in Cebu and in Bohol. We hope to see you again in Cebu.
star-3
Simple tour set up. Shark and waterfalls are interesting.
Brooke_D
, Jul 2022
Background, I'm from California, US. It's a long drive from Cebu City. The driver was on time but speak very little English. The waterfalls were beautiful, but not much information about the formation, evolution, or history from the tour guide. It's best to bring plastic shoes to walk on dead coral and muddy trails. The tour guide was very resourceful and tentative. I travel solo and she was able to get me to swim with the shark in a shorter wait time. The cooked food was very bad. I ate fruit and drink water. Toilet facilities are basic squatting and no flushing toilet or toilet paper. I don't think it is worth the money, but I'm glad to support tourism in Phillippines.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Sir, we are very sorry about your experience. The toilet should have a toilet paper there, I think it was consumed before you use the toilet and we have a specific toilet exclusive for our guests. May I asked if what food they served during your tour? You should have a chicken adobo, pancit, chopsuey and soup with rice and drinks. If not, then we can raise this in our kitchen. Anyway, thank you so much for your feedback, this will help us improve our service and we will make sure that everything will be better on our next future guests.
star-4
Surreal experience with Whale Sharks
albert_e
, Jul 2022
Definitely the whale Shark encounter. It was surreal. I do not know any other place in the world where visitors are guaranteed a whale sharks sighting, let alone getting so close
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi, thank you for your feedback, appreciate. We hope to see you again in Cebu in the future.
star-4
Must try!
Charlie_L
, Jun 2022
It was an amazing experience to swim with whale sharks which were right in front of us! Our tour guide Dianne is a very nice lady who took care of us very well. I especially like the video she took in front of the falls! However, I would expect better food during lunch with this price. The car was also filled with smell like gas and we kept the window open in the whole trip.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it. We are sorry about the car as the driver did not mention about this. We will have it check asap. As for the food, we will also ask the restaurant to have the foods adjusted, 'cuz they have mentioned lately that prices for foods are getting more expensive cuz of the fuel prices that continues to go up every week.
star-5
Once in a lifetime
julia_S
, Jun 2022
Cheryl was so nice and helped us with everything. The whale shark experience was amazing and really enjoyed the whole package.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you so much Maam for your feedback. Hope to see you again.
star-5
Amazing experience
abbas17
, Jun 2022
Great service from start to finish: email communications, timely pick up from the hotel, my guide Dianne was the best and friendlest, very helpful and making sure everything is taken care of. Swimming with the whale sharks is something to do at least once in your life. They even threw in an unscheduled sidetrip to a waterfall as a bonus. Highly recommended!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. :) WE hope to see you again.
star-5
Best tour ever!
Tom_Y
, May 2022
The tour started with swimming with the world"s largest fish...the whale shark. The tour took us out to where they are located. They come to a certain location for a few hours in the morning because they get fed in their natural habitat. They don't bite because they just suck up krill and plankton. It was incredible to swim next to them and see them up close and personal....never to be forgotten. The Tumalog Falls, the Sumilon Island and the Inambakan Falls gave us the chance to see the bountiful beauty of Mother Nature. Julie Ann was the best guide watching over us to see the sights and stay safe. Our driver, Angelo, was the best driver I have ever experience in my life. Thanks to both of them for the best tour ever!!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Sir Tom, thank you so much for your wonderful review. Appreciate it so much and we hope to see you again in Cebu.
star-5
A must see place
Bj_E
, May 2022
Super experience, loved it , well worth seeing , 30 minutes in the water with the whale sharks was incredible
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you so much Sir for your feedback appreciate it.
star-5
Magical
Vanessa_N
, Apr 2022
Best tour we’ve done in the Philippines! Swimming with whale sharks is unforgettable and Tumalog falls were magical. Kasawan Falls was closed from the entrance but you could get there by canyoneering. This was offered at an additional 1,000 pesos per person. So glad we did it! The canyoneering was the highlight of the falls. Our guide Paula was great, everything went smoothly. Sandbar was just okay for us, but we live in Guam where the beaches are unmatched.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you Ms Vanessa for your wonderful review. :) Hope to see you again.
star-5
Incredible!
TracieK
, Apr 2022
My friend and I had an amazing time through this tour! Our tour guide Paula was amazing. She was extremely positive, attentive, and gave us the best experience. We missed her when we had to separate. She also took photos for us everywhere, as well as held our things when we needed to go on excursions. The whale shark experience was incredible! But you will need to be a good swimmer, the waterfalls were all unreal! We also opted in for canyoneering that entailed 5 hours but included very beautiful sitings. Our tour guide here was also amazing.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hi, thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate it so much. Hope to see you again .
star-1
Scam
James_S
, Apr 2022
We were told by our tour guide that Sumilon sand bar was closed due to high tide but we saw group of people went to the boat to go Sumilon island, we just had lunch and left to go to other place , it looks like they want to budget our tour
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hi Sir James, we are very sorry for what happen. May I know if when did you take the tour. There was a typhoon in Cebu the last few weeks and that causes big waves. If there are big waves, we won't risk our guests to board the boat, and if the coast guard will decide that you can't go, we will not force ourselves to have you on board. It is too risky. Also if there is a part of the tour that was cancelled due to unpredictable weather, we will partially refund you or the funds for that part of the tour will be given to you by our guide through cash, which I believe, what we did. I reviewed the tours in the past few weeks and we do not have any pending funds to be refunded cuz we will refund the missed part on the day itself. If you can give me the booking reference number and the date of the tour, I can investigate this further. Also, we have never scammed anyone before, we do the tours as specified and our guides will be of service beyond the expectation. Thank you and have a great day!
star-5
The whale shark passing...
Catalina_C
, Nov 2021
The whale shark passing us. It was an exhilarating experience. The boat men takes good pictures. I enjoyed it
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. Hope to see you again!
star-4
Very good day
Tristan_C
, Mar 2020
Good trip : private driver, good guide Very good day A small bad thing : the paiement of kawasan fall 1000p
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it. Not sure what is the P1000 you paid in Kawasan, but the entrance in the falls is already included in your package. You might have added a half way canyoneering (not full course). This is the usual price if you add it on site. You should have let us know cuz we have cheaper package for that. Anyway, hope to see you again in Cebu .
star-5
A must do
Michele_R
, Feb 2020
Yes you have to set your alarm for 3am, yes there was a bit of waiting around and a long drive but well worth it, to swim with the whale sharks was an absolutely amazing experience and something I will never forget. Guides and drivers all very helpful...a must do.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi, thank you so much for your review, hope to see you again in Cebu with our other tour packages.
star-5
Whale of a time
pendletonbyron
, Feb 2020
This tour started in the wee hours of the morning. Joric whisked is down to Oslob while we snoozed in his well maintained comfortable vehicle. We were met by our guide and a light breakfast then taken to see the whales sharks. The line was incredibly long due to extra Coronavirus checks. Our guide got us ahead in the que and passed through the briefing just as they had closed all ticket sales due to bad weather. Once on the water the sea was rough but the boatmen were great and took photos for use while the whale sharks were incredible to swim with and watch. Bad weather hindered the sandbar expensive and got a good soaking on the ride back. Had to skip the additional beach due to weather but the falls were great. Overall recommend this trip highly and the guides were fantastic
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi, we thank you so much for your review, we appreciate it. Hope to see you again in Cebu with our other tour packages.
star-2
Will you get what you pay for?
pulsar5980
, Feb 2020
Very beautiful, Merlita the guide at the whale sharks was a very good guide. Although we got stuck on the sandbar our boat came and got told we had to wait for another boat (another 40 minutes) and missed out on going to the first lot of falls. It was very disappointing so we only got to go to kawasan falls. Our guide there was terrible I had my mum and our guide was a young girl and she just took off and walked so fast no one could keep up with her even me I'm 6'3 with long legs. Would I do it again. Probably no I'd probably try get there myself somehow and stay there so I don't miss things I have payed for! I rarely leave bad feedback but when I've payed money for 3 people to see something we didn't get to see I thought it's not right
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi we are sorry to hear about what happen on that day. May I know the lead guest name and the tour date so we can check and trace who the tour guide in Kawasan falls was and we can inform her about this so we can avoid this in the future. Again, we sincerely apologize about this.
star-3
Amazing tour, long journey
chelseaskillen
, Feb 2020
The tour was great and a lot of fun, but beware IT IS A LONG DRIVE!! Overall, we were gone for over 17 hours as they don’t tell you to expect traffic on the drive home. That said our driver, Nelson, and our tour guide, Noel, were both amazing and made our experience great! Swimming with the baby whale sharks was absolutely incredible, and the Kawasan falls are breathtaking! Going with a group of friends, our only regret is we wished there was a bar stop! The most convenient part of the tour is not having to figure out where to get your tickets or get in line, but the waiting at each destination definitely needs some work! Overall, great tour, just prepare yourself for a long day!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi, thank you for your feedback, since you are getting a hassle free package, then we arrange everything for you and we line up for the tickets in your behalf. About the bar stop, since Oslob is very far from the city, we pick you up too early for the reason that whale sharks operation will be closing as early as 1pm. And also you have to visit Sumilon island and Kawasan falls which is more than an hour away from Oslob. Maybe a water break for few minutes while on the way is possible (some guests will request our driver to do this) but a bar stop for maybe an hour would delay the activity on that day, so yes please consider that this will be a very long trip, however, you can sleep in the car while travelling. ;) Again, thank you and hope to see you again in Cebu.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Whale Shark Encounter and Sumilon Sandbar with Kawasan Falls
Whale Shark Encounter and Sumilon Sandbar with Kawasan Falls

star-4.558

16 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$133.34

star-00

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$123.08

star-00

16 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$138.47

star-51

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.00

star-4.511

16 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$133.34

star-55

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$235.90
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations