Recent Searches
Clear

Edinburgh Afternoon Tea Experience

star-4.5534 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Edinburgh Afternoon Tea Experience
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon1 hour 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Knowing the best spots for a quintessential British experience in Edinburgh can be tricky. Enjoy a traditional afternoon tea on a vintage Routemaster bus tour, and cruise past city landmarks including Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace as you sample fresh scones, sandwiches, and tea. Choose a departure time to suit your schedule, and capture stylish snaps on board the classic vehicle.
  • Choose a departure time that suits your schedule
  • Enjoy views of Edinburgh in any weather on board a vintage bus
  • Get a taste of British tradition with included afternoon tea service
  • Unwind with unlimited tea or coffee and a complimentary soft drink
Saved to wishlist!
Handmade Sandwich selections
Home baked warm scone with cream, jam and strawberry garnish
Selection of Petit Fours
Sumptuous cupcakes
Complimentary Soft Drink
Bottled water
Coffee and/or Tea
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Souvenir drinks cup
Waterloo Place , Waterloo Pl, Edinburgh, UK

Stand F, is located at the East End of Princes Street at the bottom of Carlton Hill.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • We do not offer live or recorded guide commentary on our buses. We are a dining Experience whilst touring Edinburgh or Glasgow.
  • Red Bus Bistro Bookings are only valid for the date and time stated.
  • Patrons should expect to share a table especially on our busier weekend tours. If patrons would rather not share a table we can try and accommodate them on a quieter tour.
  • Patrons are requested to arrive 5 – 10 minutes before departure at Stance ZF, Waterloo Place, Edinburgh. Unfortunately we cannot wait for late comers as we only have a limited time on stand. Refunds will not be offered to latecomers.
  • We offer gluten free or vegetarian options. Our Products may contain nuts. Please specify requirements upon reservation.
  • No tickets are issued for the tour.
  • Your Surname is passed to the Bus Manager prior to your tour, this will be requested upon arrival at the bus, you can print this email out purely for your own information.
  • Please be prepared to redeem any Gift Voucher you may have used for payment to the bus on the day of the tour.
  • If you have booked using an Itison voucher, we may ask to see your voucher on your phone.
  • The tour is not suitable for 6 year Old’s and under
  • Anyone under the age of 14 must be accompanied by an adult
  • There may be occasions where the tour has to be cancelled without advance notice, in the event of a cancellation patrons will be refunded in full or transferred onto another tour date.
  • If the tour is cancelled after the first half an hours commencement, we will then offer availability on another tour.
  • Smoking is not permitted on the Bus at any time.
  • Red Bus Bistro does not take any responsibility for the loss, damage or theft of personal belongings while on the Bus.
  • Conditions of carriage are subject to legislation set out by the Public Passenger Vehicles Act 1981; all details can be given by the Red Bus Bistro head office.
  • We would like to point out that we operate Vintage Routemaster Buses, and although we keep our vehicles in the best possible maintenance condition there will be times that unforeseen maintenance issues may arise and result in a disruption to the tours, or cancellation; however we will endeavour to do everything in our power to avoid any disruption.
  • Red Bus Bistro Company reserves the right to refuse carriage of patrons who are intoxicated, or displaying threatening or abusive behaviour, no refunds will be given under these circumstances. We also ask that a reasonable standard of behaviour is adhered to while on the tour, as there are other passengers to consider.
  • Red Bus Bistro is not responsible for any damage caused by breaking the rules.
  • RED BUS BISTRO COMPANY LIMITED ACCESS POLICIES
  • It is not the policy of Red Bus Bistro Company Ltd to discriminate in any way against employees or passengers regarding disability, gender, race, sexual orientation or religious beliefs.
  • Red Bus Bistro’s Bus was registered in 1966; it consists of Drivers Cab, upper deck, lower deck, and will always have at least 4 staff on board. The bus seats 12 downstairs and 28 upstairs; unfortunately due to the age and design of the Bus we cannot accommodate wheelchair passengers. Red Bus Bistro can reserve seating in advance for the lower deck for those with mobility concerns. As per above, patrons should otherwise be prepared to share a table, where the patrons would rather be seated alone we can try and accommodate them on a quieter tour however not guaranteed,
  • There is no toilet on board.
  • The tour will last between 70-90 minutes dependant on conditions, in which time our patrons will be served with an Afternoon Tea or Gin Tour. For private hire all requests are considered.
  • Red Bus Bistro Company Limited will go out of its way to cater for as diverse and audience as possible within the physical confines of the bus, and will follow the DDA Legislation guidelines at all times.
  • All information gained from Patrons will never be given to any third parties; Red Bus Bistro Company Limited is responsible for all online transactions.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Red Bus Bistro Company Limited
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "to do an afternoon tea on a sightseeing bus is a brilliant idea and totally worth it." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
534 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 534 reviews
star-1
Don’t waste your money
DIANE_H
, Aug 2022
I actually tried contacting you to get my money back. This was one of the worst tours that I’ve ever experienced! It was not worth my time or my money!! The food was not handled in a Covid compliant manner, it was either hard or soggy, the bud was filthy and there was no rhyme or reason as to where we were going, the stories were minimal and my daughter and I were squished in there like sardines so is was uncomfortable as well. We asked twice for a gluten free scone and never received it and when I asked for our complimentary bottled water and was given a dirty plastic cup with tap. The whole experience was a waste of time and I am completely disappointed.
star-5
Fun ride and dine
Samantha_L
, Aug 2022
It was fun riding around Edinburgh and being able to dine. The staff were friendly and the music was great. There were two pit stops, one for a bathroom break and one for a photo op at Discovery Earth.
star-5
Staff very friendly great...
Michelle_O
, Aug 2022
Staff very friendly great story telling food amazing Lovely cocktails Easy to use contactless payment on board bus
star-5
Wonderful way to see the city.
Morgan_R
, Jul 2022
Fantastic tour! The desserts, sandwiches and scones were excellently prepared. We really appreciated the whole tour. Thank you!
star-3
Not what I had hoped.
Rebekah_B
, Jul 2022
Our reserved time was changed by half an hour. It was 40 people sandwiched into the top deck of the bus. It was loud! The food was okay but not special really. I ended up with Prosecco all over me when the bus started to move, even though I was holding on as instructed. The most disappointing part, though, was that I had assumed when they said a bus tour of Edinburgh that it would include an explanation of where we were and what we were seeing. Maybe that was my mistake but I could have had tea at a number of places.
star-4
Just a fun event.
Brian_S
, Jul 2022
Loved the old bus and the layout. A fun way to see the city. Food was nice but would have liked a non-plastic cup.
star-3
Friendly staff and nice...
paul_R
, Jul 2022
Friendly staff and nice cakes but would have preferred to hear traditional Scottish music and singing.
star-5
Great Tour! Great Food!
Lewis_W
, Jul 2022
What a wonderful experience our “mobile” tea was! The bus itself was cool (former London Transport double-decker). The food variety was delightful and tasty, too. Seeing Edinburgh while eating was just a splendid way for my wife and me to spend our 40th anniversary day.
star-3
Not what I expected
Erin_W
, Jul 2022
Not what I expected but not a bad time. I thought this was more of a tour with tea. They didn't tell you anything about what you were driving in, so if you didn't know or had a question there was no way to find out. The food was good, the tea was in a travel cup. You couldn't select your own seat so I was stuck in the very uncomfortable front seat, but others may enjoy that. The bus made 2 stops and I was tempted to leave at the 1st because the food was done and we were otherwise just on a bus driving to nowhere. It's fun if you have some time and maybe a group who has already been to Edinburgh.
star-5
Fabulous, funny and entertaining!
Sonia_M
, Jul 2022
Booked the afternoon tea bus for a group of 6 hen weekend and what a fantastic experience! The staff and driver were fabulous, funny and entertaining. Would highly recommend if you’re looking for something lighthearted and fun to do in the city. Thank you so much.
star-3
Not what I thought it was
ccs37415
, Jul 2022
Unique experience. Food and set up were very nice but it is much harder to eat/ drink on a moving 2 decker bus than you may think. Also, I thought there would be information provided on where we were driving and what we were viewing but instead staff played very loud music and it was difficult to have conversation because of this.
star-3
Friendly staff but food could be better .
Kirsty_D
, Jul 2022
We thought that it was also a little tour of the city,as we know Edinburgh a little it was disappointing ,also the scones and cakes were shop bought and not made by the staff rather disappointing ,I would have expected better.However the staff were friendly and it was a quirky vintage bus which we liked . Maybe more suited to overseas tourists.
star-5
Fab way to explore city!
Sarah_K
, Jul 2022
Great tea experience and way to explore the city. Would def recommend. Could do with better signage where to wait - no stand F!
star-5
Absolutely brilliant everyone and everything was perfect staff was lovely and friendly
John_G
, Jul 2022
The whole experience was amazing great food friendly staff and very interesting tour and the bus driver was fantastic telling us about the bus and letting me sit in the seat. Good value for money too.
star-4
Fun trip, food not that special
Tracy_H
, Jul 2022
Fun trip, great bus hosts, only negative is food was not great quality. Note this is not a sight seeing tour, no commentary and some strange back street roads taken.
star-3
Lunch on a bus
Charmain_T
, Jul 2022
The food on this tour was good. Roads very bumpy; it’s an old city. 😉 The people were friendly enough, but this is not a guided tour. It’s a light lunch on a bus.
star-1
Tea was cold. Food wasn’t...
Constance_M
, Jul 2022
Tea was cold. Food wasn’t as advertised. Ie no cupcakes. Music was country/ western. Could have been Scottish folk songs or even contemporary would have been better. No explanation of what we were seeing. No opportunity to ask questions. Food served was not tasty and unappetizing.
star-5
Enjoyable and disappointing!
Omar_E
, Jul 2022
Firstly, I would like to say my wife and I enjoyed the overall experience, and that the staff were very accommodating, friendly and extremely courteous, however we were a bit disappointed. I had left a clear message that I did not want any pork products and only non-alcoholic drinks to be served, when I booked the trip, but we had two ham sandwiches and wine waiting for us at the table... As i mentioned earlier, the staff were very accommodating and tried really hard to rectify the error by making us new sandwiches and serving us etc. We did not have the Ruccola leaves and we had no mini pies. The tray we had was a circular one which wobbled the whole trip and I needed to hold the base most of the time. I don't really know where the mixup occurred, was it Viator's fault, the tour operator's or the hosts on the bus. This review is not meant to bring the ratings down or to glamourise a complaint, hence the 5 star rating. It is specifically geared, so that it does not happen again to a paying customer in the future.
star-4
A very cute afternoon
Amy_R
, Jun 2022
A fun exprience to see the city and have an afternoon tea. I was very happy that I was able to participate as I am gluten free and I was able to let them know ahead and gluten free options were available. Overall a fun experience!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Good Afternoon thank you for the great feedback we glad you enjoyed the tour ,
star-3
Tea was lovely and staff...
Marion_R
, Jun 2022
Tea was lovely and staff were friendly. However, despite my messages sent prior about our dietary requirements, these were not passed on. The staff did a good job of improvising at the last minute. In addition, a bit of commentary about Edinburgh and the arras we were passing through would have been a good addition to the tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Edinburgh Afternoon Tea Experience
Likely to Sell Out
Edinburgh Afternoon Tea Experience

star-4.5534

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$45.42

star-51

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$121.52

star-4.520

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$29.46

star-524

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.24

star-51629

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$23.94

star-567

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$63.83

star-4.578

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$30.69

star-5209

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$135.02

star-4113

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$23.62
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations