Recent Searches
Clear

Glenfinnan Viaduct, Mallaig & Glencoe tour from Glasgow

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Glasgow City, United Kingdom
Glenfinnan Viaduct, Mallaig & Glencoe tour from Glasgow

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon11 hours 45 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Venture beyond Glasgow city limits—and explore some of the Highlands’ wildest and most beautiful scenery—on this full-day excursion. In the morning, set off from central Glasgow in a comfortable mini-coach. Spy Loch Lomond before stopping at the village of Glencoe, ringed by dramatic, mountainous scenery. Next, see the Silver Sands of Morar, explore the town of Mallaig, visit the Glenfinnan Viaduct (made famous by the Harry Potter movies), and more.
  • See many of the Highlands’ top sights, all in a single tour
  • Round-trip mini-coach transit from Glasgow makes logistics stress-free
  • See highlights like Loch Lomond, Glencoe, Glenfinnan Viaduct, and more
  • Stop in a quaint village for lunch and visit a traditional pub (own expense)
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Services of your Driver-Guide
Transportation by mini coach
Meals and Refreshments
Entrance to Glenfinnan Monument, £4 per adult, £3 per child/concession which can be paid on the day.
Jacobite Steam Train Tickets
Buchanan Street Bus Station , Buchanan Street Bus Station, Killermont St, Glasgow G2 3NW, UK

Our tours depart from between stance 23 - 32. Please check in 15 minutes before departure. The station information board will display the exact stance for the tour. If you do not arrive on time for check in you will unfortunately miss your tour.

8:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • We are unable to accommodate children under 5.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Discover Scotland Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Glenfinnan Viaduct, Mallaig & Glencoe tour from Glasgow?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Glenfinnan Viaduct, Mallaig & Glencoe tour from Glasgow.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Glenfinnan Viaduct, Mallaig & Glencoe tour from Glasgow?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Glenfinnan Viaduct, Mallaig & Glencoe tour from Glasgow.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Glenfinnan Viaduct, Mallaig & Glencoe tour from Glasgow?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Glenfinnan Viaduct, Mallaig & Glencoe tour from Glasgow.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

5.0
star-5
60 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 60 reviews
star-5
Memorable & amazing experience!
Marissa_R
, Oct 2021
Gerry was our tour guide and I can’t compliment him enough. He was a safe and calm driver, had lots of interesting and fun facts about all sorts of locations and history, relevant music for his stories and a few jokes as well. He was friendly and informative for all major sights and stops. He was also sure to check that we were comfortable and point out key aspects such as toilet locations and best photo spots a few minutes before arrival at each stop on the way. He always gave us a good amount of time to enjoy the stops and ensured we arrived in time to see the steam train cross the bridge. Definitely my favourite tour to date for both the incredible scenery and a perfect tour guide!! To be able to see mountains to lochs to seas in one day was incredible. Thank you again!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hi Marissa_R, Thank you for your review of our Glenfinnan Viaduct, Mallaig & Glencoe tour. It's great to hear you really enjoyed your tour with us. I have passed on your kind feedback to your Tour Leader Jerry, who I'm sure will really appreciate it. We hope to see you on board again in the future!
star-5
Glenfinnan tour
grelka_s
, Oct 2021
What a fantastic day. Mini coach was warm and comfortable. John our tour guide, was knowledgeable and we loved listening to all the historical tales. Great way to see these parts of Scotland. Great value and well worth the money for so many stops to these landmarks. We were blessed with a sunny, clear day, so views were amazing.. Fabulous work, well done
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hi Grelka, Thank you for your review of our Glenfinnan Viaduct, Mallaig & Glencoe tour. It's brilliant to hear that you had a fantastic day and I'm glad the sun shone too! I have passed on your kind feedback to your Tour Leader John, who I'm sure will really appreciate it. We hope to see you on board again in the future.
star-5
Scenic trip good host
Lisa_D
, Sep 2021
Jerry driver very good Trip lovely and very scenic Just wished could of gone on the steam train which we thought was in the package
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Hi Lisa, Thank you for your review of our Glenfinnan Viaduct, Mallaig & Glencoe tour. It's great to hear you had a lovely tour and that you enjoyed your time with your Tour Leader Jerry. I have passed on your kind feedback to him which I'm sure he will appreciate. It's disappointing that you did not realise you would not be travelling on the train. The train was once part of our tour but was removed due to a change in their ticketing options meaning 1 way tickets are no longer available. The tour page states that the tickets are not included as we want our passengers to be aware of this when booking. I'm glad this did not impact your overall enjoyment of the tour however and we hope to see you on board again in the future.
star-5
Excellent trip Michael was great highly recommend
Celia_S
, Aug 2021
Wonderful trip Michael was brilliant but we were disappointed about the train trip being an extra 49 pounds so that needs to be made clearer in advertising and two prices given. Overall it was brilliant value for money as we covered so many miles I would highly recommend it. Michael friendly, professional and funny very knowledgeable giving us a real history lesson too.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi Celia, Thank you for your review of our Glenfinnan, Mallaig & Jacobite Steam Train tour. We are glad that you had a wonderful trip and that you thought it brilliant value for money. I have passed on your kind feedback to your Tour Leader Michael, who I'm sure will really appreciate it. It's disappointing to hear that you found the exclusion information unclear. The cost for the Jacobite Steam Train isn't listed as travelling on the train isn't a scheduled part of the tour. We do however note that the train tickets aren't included just in case anyone is unsure. I'm glad this didn't impact your overall enjoyment of the tour. We hope to see you on board again in the future.
star-5
The best way to experience Scotland in a day
Lachlan_D
, Aug 2021
Magical experience that provides such a great opportunity to explore the wonders of Scotland. Comfy, small 16 seater bus that gives a very personal journey and encompasses such a wide variety of scenery. Our guide/ driver Jeff truly spoke from the heart and with such passion about his beloved country that you could tell he was genuinely in love with the job only enhacing the trip. Could not recommend more.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi Lachlan, Thank you for your review of our Glenfinnan, Mallaig & Jacobite Steam Train tour. It's excellent to hear you had a magical time on tour and that you would recommend it to others. I have passed on your kind feedback to your Tour Leader Jeff, who I'm sure will really appreciate it. We hope to see you on board again in the future.
star-5
Glasgow Mallaig Harry Potter train tour
KaL
, Aug 2021
The scenery was going to be spectacular on this trip no matter what, but it never fails to surprise us just how jaw dropping it is. This was an excellent, very enjoyable well organised day tour from Glasgow to Mallaig, with the right amount of stops to take photos, in a modern comfortable mini bus. The trip was very well planned out in order to see the Harry Potter train at both Mallaig and Glen Finnan viaduct, with our friendly and knowledgeable guide, John.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi KaL, Thank you for your review of our Glenfinnan, Mallaig & Jacobite Steam Train tour. It's great to hear you had a lovely day. We hope you were able to capture some photos of the stunning scenery too! I have passed on your kind feedback to your Tour Leader John, who I'm sure will really appreciate it. We hope to see you on board again in the future!
star-5
Glasgow Mallaig trip.
KaL
, Aug 2021
The scenery was going to be there all along and was expected to be stunning this trip, no matter what, but it never fails to be jaw dropping! This was an excellent, memorable, so well organised day trip from Glasgow, with 2 Scots and a Venezuelan from Germany plus a nice bunch of fellow travellers. It had just the right number of stops for photos and a wander, perfectly timed encounters with the Harry Potter train and great information en route, with good Scottish humour from our lovely driver John. I wouldn't hesitate to go on another!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi KaL, Thank you for your review of our Glenfinnan, Mallaig & Jacobite Steam Train tour. It's great to hear you had a lovely day. We hope you were able to capture some photos of the stunning scenery too! I have passed on your kind feedback to your Tour Leader John, who I'm sure will really appreciate it. We hope to see you on board again in the future!
star-5
Excellent tour - learned so much!
Rachael_H
, Aug 2021
Booked this tour as my daughter and I are massive Harry Potter fans and were keen to see the Jacobite steam train pass over Glenfinnan viaduct, and visit Mallaig to possibly get tickets for the train itself. However, by the end of the day Harry Potter wasnt even in my mind, as I was engrossed in the history of Scotland, thanks to our driver Fergie! We started the day with a warm welcome from Fergie who explained the plan for the day. Bus was very comfortable, with USB charging points, air conditioning and protective screens for Covid. Masks were required whilst on board but this was fine as the temperature on the bus was comfortable at all times. I was impressed with the sound system and was able to hear clearly, all the interesting facts that Fergie provided throughout the day. Stops throughout the day included Loch Lomond, Glencoe, Mallaig and Glenfinnan, as well some other stunning photo opportunities. I personally found Mallaig massively underwhelming and we didn't even bother enquiring about train tickets for the Jacobite as we enjoyed the commentary from Fergie so much that we wanted to travel back by bus! Its worth noting that the stop to Glenfinnan is on the way back from Mallaig so if you do manage to get a train ticket you won't get the chance to see the Jacobite go over the viaduct from a view point - as you will be on board! We had around 1 hour 15 mins in Mallaig, enough time to visit the handful of shops and a grab some fish and chips. Couldn't even get a decent photo of the Jacobite steam train as they had reversed the engine behind the carriages. Public restrooms 30p via contact less card, no cash option so make sure you have your card with you. On the way back we stopped in Glencoe where Fergie played a song on his bagpipes. A wonderful gesture which added to the overall experience of the tour and something we were not expecting at all! After a rocky start to the day due to some guests being late and then one suffering from travel sickness (requiring a couple of emergency stops), along with the disappointment from Mallaig, I can hand on heart say that in spite of these things, this was one of the best tours I have ever done. We are from Newcastle and usually go abroad several times a year. I can't believe what beautiful scenery and rich history we have within a few hours drive. We will definitely be returning to Scotland and looking to book more tours! As for Fergie, give that bloke a raise or at the very least get a tip box for the front of the bus - he's worth every penny!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi Rachael, Thank you for your review of our Glenfinnan, Mallaig & Jacobite Steam Train tour. It's great to hear you had a you enjoyed your tour and that you may have also been converted into a Scottish history buff too! I have passed on your kind feedback to your Tour Leader/Piper Fergie, who I'm sure will really appreciate it. We hope to see you on board again in the future!
star-5
Amazing
MARTY
, Aug 2021
Ferge- our guide is amazing. He knows the history very well, I learned a lot of Scottish history, lucky to have him on our tour. Overall, the tour was fantastic. From booking till the end it was seamless, informative and entertaining.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi Marty, Thank you for your review of our Glenfinnan, Mallaig & Jacobite Steam Train tour. We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic tour and that you really enjoyed your time with your Tour Leader Fergie. I have passed on your kind feedback to him, which I'm sure he will really appreciate. We hope to see you on board again in the future.
star-5
Best experience we had
Sumaya_H
, Jul 2021
It was amazing experience and the tour guide made it much more amazing as he was telling us the history of every place we were going through. It was me and my husband 5th anniversary and this will be something we will remember. The view was breath taking. I Made couple list of places where I will visit with my family later on. Absolutely stunning.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Sumaya, Thank you for your review of our Glenfinnan, Mallaig & Jacobite Steam Train Tour. It's great to hear you had an amazing tour. What a lovely way to spend your anniversary. I hope you captured some lovely photos to remember your visit. I have passed on your kind feedback to your Tour Leader Fergie, who I'm sure will really appreciate it. We hope to see you on board again in the future.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Glenfinnan Viaduct, Mallaig & Glencoe tour from Glasgow
Glenfinnan Viaduct, Mallaig & Glencoe tour from Glasgow

star-560

11 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$72.65

star-538

11 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$69.86

star-524

3 days

Free Cancellation

From
$208.18

star-520

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$58.68

star-55

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$53.09

star-4.528

3 days

Free Cancellation

From
$188.62

star-58

2 days

Free Cancellation

From
$118.76

star-55

2 days

Free Cancellation

From
$118.76

star-00

12 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$83.83

Explore Similar Things to Do