Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Canterbury and Dover Tour from London

|
Greater London, United Kingdom

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon1 day  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Journey to England’s south-eastern coast on this full-day small-group tour of Dover and Canterbury from London. Drive through the scenic Kent countryside to the historic port of Dover, overlooked by the dramatic White Cliffs of Dover and enjoy free time to explore attractions like the medieval Dover Castle, war tunnels, Royal Court of Henry II and more. After lunch, head to Canterbury to visit the UNESCO-listed Canterbury Cathedral, the seat of the Church of England, then use your free time to explore attractions like St. Martin’s Church, St. Augustine’s Abbey, or The Beaney House of Art and Knowledge.
  • Comprehensive tour of Canterbury and Doverby bus/coach
  • All entrance fees included
  • Visit the UNESCO-listed Canterbury Cathedral and Dover Castle
  • Escape the city for a day and explore the countryside on a small-group tour
Professional guide
Pickup and drop-off from designated meeting points
Air-conditioned vehicle
Food and drinks
Gratuities

Departure Point

London Bridge Station (Stop R), London SE1 2SW, UK

Departure Time

9:00 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Itinerary is a guide, and the order of the visits may vary
  • This tour involves a fair amount of walking to get around the sites and we recommend the wearing of comfortable clothes & walking shoes
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Not recommended for travellers with serious mobility issues
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Anderson Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Canterbury and Dover Tour from London?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Canterbury and Dover Tour from London.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Canterbury and Dover Tour from London?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Canterbury and Dover Tour from London.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Canterbury and Dover Tour from London?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Canterbury and Dover Tour from London.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Canterbury and Dover Tour from London?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Canterbury and Dover Tour from London.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Canterbury and Dover Tour from London?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Canterbury and Dover Tour from London.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "At this time of year it would seem better to go to Oxford first." See review
  • "Just be prepared for a LOT of walking up and down a lot of hilly terrain on this tour - we felt bad for the older folks in walkers or that were not as ambulatory that were huffing and puffing." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
91 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 91 reviews
star-4
An interesting trip
Tour827906
, Dec 2019
Went withmy brother on this trip. A new company to me but a really good one. Our guide Tass and driver Peter, took us safely through Greenwich out to the motor way heading to Dover. Aforistiska stop at Dover castle, then the cliffs and finally Canterbury. We got enough time on every stop. We could have planned better ourselves, and eaten at The cliffs of Dover instead of in Canterbury, because I would have liked to spend more time in that town. But by then we were to hungry to do more than visit the cathedral. Over all, a nice and satisfactory trip.
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful
star-4
Enjoyable day at Dover and Canterbury!
ELL_USA
, Dec 2019
Dover Castle was the highlight for me. England's largest castle with a fascinating tunnel complex included enjoyable cameo appearances by actors performing parodies of King Henry II and his royal family. The tour guide was friendly and provided interesting historical overviews on rides between sites. I'm subtracting one star because the guide got us to Canterbury with only 40 minutes to tour England's oldest cathedral before closing time. OK for me but, if you are a cathedral maven hoping for more time, take note. Overall, an excellent day!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thank you for your review! We are happy to read you enjoyed Dover Castle, it is truly a unique castle. Thank you for pointing out the Canterbury Cathedral time crunch, we are working on a new itinerary for winter to give our customers more time at the Cathedral. Kind regards, The Anderson Tours Team
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful
star-4
Great and knowledgeable driver
Sightseer705778
, Nov 2019
The driver was excellent. Very friendly and knowledgeable. We did not arrive in Oxford until 3:00 or 3:30 which did not leave much daylight hours and was close to closing times for many sites like the cathedral and museum. At this time of year it would seem better to go to Oxford first.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and your comment about the timings, especially in Oxford. We will definitely use it for our next tours. Best regards, The Anderson Tours Team
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Host Giovanni & driver Desmond were great!
michaelbeg2019
, Oct 2019
Dover Cliffs and Castle and the Canterbury Cathedral were a perfect day trip. Great and thoughtful info and history shared by Giovanna along the way. She and Desmond were fun and professional.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Michael Thank you for your review of our Canterbury and Dover tour and the praise for the Tour Manager and driver, we will let them know. You are happy to hear you had a good day and hope you can travel with us again someday. Kind Regards Anderson Tours
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Dover and Canterbury
T9740UTkimberlym
, Oct 2019
Great trip - the guide was excellent! Friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. Despite the crazy wind the Castle was worth the drive. So much history. Canterbury was charming, I’d love to spend a full day there. Thank you!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thank you for your review! It is always a pleasure to read that our customers have enjoyed their tour and the service provided by our Tour Manager. Best regards, The Anderson Tours Team
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Great trip and ample time for sightseeing
Jason F
, Sep 2019
The trip worked out well with the coach showing up right on time at the prescribed location. Seems like we had a larger group then they were generally used to, and though we had a number of 'stragglers' at each location (that did not show up on time when they were supposed to be back at the bus), the tour guide and driver still ensured that we had the requisite amount of time at each location (we got back a bit late, but would rather have been returning late than have the time cut short). The weather was lousy in London but opened up to sunny skies with a lot of wind at the castle and the cliffs. Views were great and again had ample time to see everything we wanted to see at Dover Castle, White Cliffs, and Canterbury (including a quick bite to eat at the Castle as well as a tour of the underground hospital as well as another quick bite in Canterbury). Just be prepared for a LOT of walking up and down a lot of hilly terrain on this tour - we felt bad for the older folks in walkers or that were not as ambulatory that were huffing and puffing. My apple watch ways we walked up 32 flights of stairs and over 15,000 steps on this tour. If you can keep up, you won't be disappointed. Would recommend that the operator consider a shuttle for those that are less able to walk to allow them to get to the accessible locations on the tour.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Jason, Thank you for your review and for your feedback that will help us improve the tour in the future. Kind regards, The Anderson Tours Team
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful
star-4
Good Trip
Bob P
, Sep 2019
Enjoyable experience, Guide could have had more information about some of the towns and scenes we passed before getting to Dover.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Dear Bob, Thank you for your review! Your feedback is important as it allows us to improve our tours and deliver a better experience to our customers. Kind regards, The Anderson Tours Team
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful
star-2
Too many issues
826abcde123
, Aug 2019
Bus broke down, paid our own train fare back asked for refund. Given a third back with no explanation. Tried to follow-up but no result
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read the tour was not up to your expectations. We have investigated the matter and it seems that the coach did indeed have an issue but a replacement coach was sent straight away and the tour ended up being back in London with a delay of less than two hours. We have received your refund requests from Viator and have explained the situation to them several times. We are sorry if they did not give you a more complete explanation on the refund amount. We have also received the email you sent today and will be replying to it before the end of the day. We do hope you still managed to enjoy the sites you visited. Regards, The Anderson Tours Team
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful
star-1
Site Closed Yet Tour Leaves to take your money
JJones0174
, Aug 2019
Dover Castle was closed yet the tour departed London without informing customers. While en route to Dover, we check Dover Castle website to see castle was closed. Weather with high wind had been forecasted in advance yet the tour operated (Anderson Tours operating on behalf of Viator). We pulled up to the Dover Castle (there were no other tour buses to be seen) and unloaded in the rain only to be told the Castle was closed. Bus left us to stand in the wind and rain. We were then informed that we also not be seeing the white cliffs at Dover which was the only reason for taking this tour. Rather than taking us back to London so we could salvage our only day remaining, we were to taken to an alternate location that we had no interest in seeing. We ended up leaving the tour and taking the train back to London. Worst tour ever and poorest customer service. No refunded given for their poor planning and ruining our day. Go elsewhere.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Dear Jason, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that your experience with us wasn't the best one. While we knew there would be high winds, Dover Castle decided to close the Castle after we departed London, which is why we did not inform you prior to the departure. There was also a security concern regarding the White Cliffs and the strong winds near the coast. This is the reason why we couldn't take you to see them. We offered Leeds Castle as an alternative as it is the most similar attraction in the area. We would have been open to discuss your options such as re-booking the tour for another day or providing you with a refund if you had advised us that you were not happy with the alternative offered on the day. Unfortunately, as you entered Canterbury Cathedral and were added to the ticket for Leeds Castle (as you did not advise the tour guide that you were leaving), we had to pay for these entrances and so are now unable to offer you any refunds. We do hope you enjoyed Canterbury Cathedral nonetheless and we are sorry for the unfortunate weather on the day you took our tour. Best Regards, The Anderson Tours Team
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
If only there was more time...
llayton_10
, Jul 2019
We enjoyed this tour. All three stops were great. Wish we had more time to walk at cliffs of Dover - like 1-2 hours. Our guide was lovely - she make sure we all knew where we were going and took care to answer questions. Thank you!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to read you enjoyed your time on the tour! We have also taken note of your feedback regarding the timings. Sincerely, The Anderson Tours Team
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful

Product code: 8754P3

Explore Similar Things to Do