Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Full-day White Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Cathedral Tour from London

star-4.5
|
Greater London, United Kingdom

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon10 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

The White Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Cathedral are two of the most important sites in southeast England, and this full-day tour from London visits both in one day. Marvel at the famous White Cliffs and gaze out across the English Channel as you walk along the cliff tops, then enjoy a walking tour of Canterbury, visit the UNESCO-listed Cathedral, and explore the Dover Castle (optional).
  • Visit the White Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Cathedral on a day trip
  • Spend a day away from the hustle and bustle of London
  • An optional visit to Dover Castle can be added
  • Take in the views of the English Channel from the cliffs
All taxes, fees and handling charges
Air-conditioned vehicle
Local guide
Gratuities
Lunch
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

16 Hobart Pl, Belgravia, London SW1W 0HH, UK

Departure Time

7:45 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum age is 4 years
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Day Tours London

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Full-day White Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Cathedral Tour from London?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Full-day White Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Cathedral Tour from London.

Traveler Tips


  • "Don't listen to the reviews that say you can't see the cliffs." See review
  • "Cliffs are amazing, when thinking about how huge and how long they have been around!" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
36 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-8 of 36 reviews
star-5
Great Day. !!!
mksrec1166
, Nov 2019
Despite being a very blustery day! It was a great day and perfect outing. Lucy was awesome tour guide with great suggestions. Would highly recommend.
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
So beautiful -
Jocelyn Z
, Aug 2019
Our guide Gareth was tremendous. Very nice to have a small group (12 of us) -- our time in Dover was my favorite. There is only enough time though for 1 of the 3 main things you can do at the White Cliffs - hike the stairs all the way down to the beach, take the Fan Bay Deep Shelter (about 45 min tour), or go all the way to the light house. Don't get me wrong we had 3.5 hrs there, but I wanted to do it ALL! So, to sum it up, you could spend ALL DAY in Dover and be very happy, but due to time contraints (driving from London and back) this was an excellent tour and value for the money, and of course Canterbury was a plus too. Enjoy!
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour!
vswartzentruber
, Aug 2019
This tour was awesome! Don't listen to the reviews that say you can't see the cliffs. It is a hike to get to the lookouts where you get good views, but they give you a map and there's plenty of time. Is it views like you see when you do a google search? No, because that would require being on a boat or in an aircraft, which this tour obviously doesn't do that, but they are great views nonetheless. Amazing views! I got some amazing pictures from the beach because I went down the Langdon stairs as well as at a lookout past Fan Bay. I wasn't sure I had enough time to make it to the lighthouse, so I didn't go that far, and I definitely had enough time (I am a fast walker though). Canterbury was great as well. I had enough time for lunch and the Cathedral. My only wish was that we had more time in Canterbury because it had so much to see and I didn't have time for anything else. But the Cathedral was amazing even with the construction and I had a great time. The tour was perfectly what I wanted and our tour guide was amazing (sadly I have no idea how to spell his name). I can't recommend this tour enough!
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful
star-1
Awful Tour Guide and Service !
Dianne D
, Jul 2019
I took my parents as a gift on their anniversary. I had called Viator to ask about wheelchair accessibility prior to taking the trip. They told us it was fully accessible. It was NOT. When we got to Dover, we saw it was impossible to go see the cliffs while in the wheelchair, so we were forced to sit in the cafe for 2 hours and wait for everyone. What a complete waste of money and time! The guide Alicia was the most unpleasant and unfriendly person ever to have guided a tour. She was not even courteous enough to ask if my elderly mother required any assistance or suggest any options while we sat in the cafe and missed the cliffs. AWFUL !
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Dear Dianne D, Thanks for taking the time to review our tour to White Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury. You mentioned above that you rang Viator to ask if this tour had wheelchair accessibility prior to taking the trip. And Viator told you it was fully accessible. However, perhaps if you rang us the tour company we may have gave you a more rounded answer. We accommodated the wheelchair in the boot of the bus, but please be aware there are steps going up into the bus and so the customer needs to be able to climb these with help from a relative. There are beautiful walk ways along the cliffs and I do not understand why your parents could not see the cliffs these pathways are accessible for wheel chairs. Read about accessibility for wheel chair users at the White Cliffs of Dover at the English Heritage website. You could have also gone to see parts of the castle grounds. There are steep parts but these can be avoided. Your parents could have also gone down into the tunnels which are wheel chair accessible and there is a little run around train for people who find walking difficult. There is still lots to see and do at the cliffs and castle grounds. Where you were siting at the cafe there is the most beautiful views of the cliffs and it really is breath-taking. No one forced your parents to sit there but it is fab spot to be situated. To be honest I do not think that your parents made the best of the situation unfortunately. I do not believe Elisha was unpleasant and unfriendly a very unfair assumption to make about a person. Elisha always gets fabulous reviews, but Elisha is a wonderful guide and person. I am sure Elisha was courteous on the day and always is in person. We even had an email in, commending Elisha on how great she was on the White Cliffs tour. Regards, Day Tours London Team.
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Gareth made the trip fun and informative!
Relax20217718921
, May 2019
This was our first tour experience and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Gareth's knowledge and easy way of sharing were excellent. I'm so glad he was driving and not me - He handled the traffic extremely well and made us all feel safe. We really appreciated having plenty of time at all the sites and how well the time was spent.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Dear Relax2.... Thanks so much for your 5*Review on our White Cliffs of Dover , Canterbury and Kent day tour from London. We are so happy you had a wonderful day trip with Gareth. Gareth is a very experienced tour guide and driver and is passionate about his job . Gareth really cares for his passengers and this shows in his daily work. We are also delighted that you felt you had plenty of time at all the sites, this is excellent to hear and high praise indeed. We hope to see you in the future again. Kind Regards, Day Tours London Team.
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful
star-1
AWFUL. Learned next to nothing on...
Sharon C.
, Jun 2018
AWFUL. Learned next to nothing on trip out there, then was dumped at the center and told they'd be back in a few hours. I had no idea where to go or what to do. We were NOT told about climbing around the cliff on wet trails, which meant we should have been told to wear hiking boots or very good walking shoes. I slipped and fell multiple times. Also, what was so disappointing is that while you are atop the cliffs, you have a very poor, nearly nonexistent view of these famous white cliffs. You need to be out on the water on a ferry looking at them to do them justice. It was extremely disappointing. I spent more than two hours hanging out at the gift shop for the second half of the tour.....Then Canterbury Cathedral: it was closed. They knew it was closed, or should have known it was closed, so it was a complete waste of time. Instead, once again, we were dumped at the town square and told what time to be back, and then it was full of nothing but window shopping since the Cathedral was closed. Not only that, IF it had been open, its cost was extra which was not made known previously. Then we were dropped off way far away on the outskirts of town at the end of the day, requiring significant Tube travel back to our point of start. That was unexpected too. I would NEVER recommend this trip via Viator or whichever company ran it through them. I was tremendously disappointed.
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing experience!
C710BIdavidb
, Jun 2018
Cliffs are amazing, when thinking about how huge and how long they have been around! Bus ride was comfortable and short, from London, and tour guide helpful. We did not take any formal tours, but toured at our own pace (we are 70 and 77), which is slow but steady. Did only the first half mile along the cliff edge, and got a good view stretching ahead. At Canterbury Cathedral, we were awed by the detail and age and well-preserved condition overall, and were able to photograph inside!
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful
star-1
Tour und Führung ausgezeichnet. Aber....
j0sefaigner
, Jul 2018
Allerdings war der Eintritt in die Kathedrale anders als am Voucher vermerkt, nicht inkludiert. Zudem war an diesem Tag die Kathedrale wegen Gratuation-Feierlichkeiten überhaupt gesperrt. Also ein voller Reinfall.
HelpfulHelpful0 travelers found this review helpful

Product code: 21204P5

Explore Similar Things to Do