Recent Searches
Clear

Privateer Schooner Sailing Tour in Salem Sound

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Salem, United States
Privateer Schooner Sailing Tour in Salem Sound
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 45 minutes  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Embark on an interactive sailing excursion off the coast of Salem on a replica historic privateer schooner. Great for families and anyone who gets bored easily, this adventure keeps you engaged by offering opportunities to help with tasks such as raising the sails and steering the boat. Plus, the crew shares stories about the history of Salem and the role played by privateers.
  • Experience a historic sailing adventure and learn about the area’s storied past
  • Take part in activities or relax and enjoy the sights
  • Choose from multiple daily start times to suit your schedule
  • Depart from the conveniently located Pickering Wharf Marina in downtown Salem
Saved to wishlist!
Restroom on board
86 Wharf St , 86 Wharf St, Salem, MA 01970, USA

"86 Wharf St" is a fictional address, but will get you close to our ticket booth in front of FINZ. Traffic and parking are challenging on weekends, and that goes TRIPLE for October! Allow extra time! No-shows will not receive a refund.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 28 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Schooner FAME of Salem
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Privateer Schooner Sailing Tour in Salem Sound?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
See all safety measures taken by Privateer Schooner Sailing Tour in Salem Sound.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Privateer Schooner Sailing Tour in Salem Sound?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Privateer Schooner Sailing Tour in Salem Sound.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Privateer Schooner Sailing Tour in Salem Sound?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Privateer Schooner Sailing Tour in Salem Sound.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
346 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 346 reviews
star-5
I really enjoyed steering...
denise_R
, Aug 2022
I really enjoyed steering the ship, the crew was wonderful and it was a perfect day! It’s really annoying that I have to submit 100 characters.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks for sailing :)
star-5
A wonderful way to see and learn about Salem
Melissa_J
, Aug 2022
We had a wonderful time sailing on the Fame. The crew was engaging and it was one of our favorite activities we did in Salem.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Glad to hear that. Thanks for sailing!
star-5
Birthday Sunset Sail Celebration
Cindy_R
, Aug 2022
Great crew. Beautiful scenery. Enjoyed talking with the Captain and crew. Such a nice and relaxing evening.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks for sharing your birthday with us :)
star-5
Enjoying the water.
JOHN_V
, Aug 2022
My daughter and I took the afternoon boat ride and we were lucky to have a good wind to sail around the bay. The captain was very informative and his crew was very helpful in making sure the trip was a success. I apologize that I did not remember names. I actually helped host the sail and talked with the captain. There was also a couple of kids that took charge and stirred the boat. I got some great pictures and just enjoyed the experience. As a side note was supposed to take the sunset cruise the night before but weather did not cooperate, but they were able to get us on the next day, thank goodness. Highly recommend this for a couple of hours of relaxation. Enjoy
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
John, thanks for sailing with us! Glad we could accommodate you!
star-1
I want my money back !
Joe_O
, Aug 2022
I want my money back ! The address was fictitious, there is no 86 Wharf Street. We could not find where to go, or even a place to park. My family dropped me off as they circled in the car so I could find the address on foot and there was no one around. We threw away 200 dollars on a disappointment, and we will never come back to Salem. We WILL fight to get our money back.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks for raising several important points. Traffic and parking are challenging in Salem, which we discuss in our confirmation email; the boat leaves on time; and guests will NOT receive a refund if they miss the boat. We are clear about this in all our communications with guests. We also point out that although "86 Wharf Street" is not an actual address, it will put you right in front of our ticket booth at the Finz restaurant. Had you called us, we might have been able to help. Melissa was waiting in the booth with four tickets in her hand right up to departure time (and hung around for several minutes after) and we never heard from you. Now, why do we not refund guests who miss the boat? This trip, the last public sail of the day, was sold out, and we were turning people away. To sail with four empty seats we could have easily filled causes us to lose money. It is not our fault when guests miss the boat, which is why you bear the loss, and not us. VIATOR Customers! if you have never sailed with us before, DO click on on the "more information" link when you purchase your tickets, to make sure you get directions, advice, and info about your trip!
star-5
Great day on the water
Marvin_R
, Aug 2022
When the engine was cut and the wind caught the sails- what freedom! The captain and crew were very friendly and answered all questions, especially about our location and the history of the ship and where we were sailing; islands, houses along the shoreline, etc.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks, Marvin! Glad you enjoyed your sail!
star-5
Amazing!
Nicole_F
, Jul 2022
The crew was amazing and the experience was unforgettable! We hope to return soon to relive this adventure! I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a fun and relaxing activity.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Wow, thank you! We look forward to sailing with you again!
star-5
Anniversary Cruise
Toni_M
, Jul 2022
I took my husband on this sunset cruise for our anniversary. From the moment we stepped on, the crew was amazing! And the sunset didn’t disappoint, either!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for sailing, Toni — and happy anniversary!
star-4
Schooner cruise
Louis_P
, Jul 2022
A wonderful way to see the beautiful harbor and to relax. Interactive experience. Some guests helped raise the sails and some children got to steer. Great staff.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you! Be sure to let us know how we can earn that fifth star!
star-5
Schooner ride in Salem, MA
Shawn_C
, Jul 2022
The most beautiful experience. Breathtaking, and I felt such peace and tranquility from being one with sea. Great crew who were hospitable, and made the trip fun, and informative. Very relaxing and restorative.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Wow! Sailing agrees with you :) thanks for coming out with us!
star-5
Simple amazing
Brandon_H
, Jul 2022
My wife and I had the most amazing experience. Breathtaking was the view and the weather could not be any more perfect. The crew was knowledgeable, well disciplined and lead by an excellent captain. I recommend the experience for everyone!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for sailing with us!
star-5
A Sailing Adventure Like No Other
Paul_M
, Jul 2022
The captain and crew were very engaging and knowledgeable of the ship and the harbor. They were eager to let passengers assist with the operations and provide instructions on what to do. The small number of passengers — along with the beautiful weather — made for a perfect sailing experience. Will definitely do this again if we come back this way.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks so much for sailing with us!!!
star-5
A great experience wonderful trip
Joan_G
, Jul 2022
History of the ship, kids participation, crew was amazing Captain was very personable and great with the kids.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for the kind words!!!
star-5
Vaca
Sherri_W
, Jun 2022
It was an excellent activity that incorporated history and fun. You can be interactive, helped put up sails, or relaxed, drank a local beer, as you want. Weather allowed us to take in the beautiful Salem sound. The crew definitely did an outstanding job.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you, Sherri!
star-5
Same trip
Rose_C
, Jun 2022
Had a fabulous time from the beginning to end. The crew was great and friendly. The captain was knowledgeable, funny and great to be around.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Oh no, now you've encouraged him to make more "captain jokes" :)
star-5
Lovely afternoon on A beautiful Schooner
Cynthia_J
, Jun 2022
Watching the sails go up, heeling in the wind, firing the cannon, pleasant and knowledgeable crew! Great afternoon!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Sounds good to us :)
star-5
Raining
Laurie_A
, Jun 2022
It rained but staff was very accommodating. Thanks for all the info. Not too comfortable. That’s about it
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thanks, Laurie. That passing shower was a bummer but luckily it was brief, and you were all troopers! Sail with us again sometime on some sunny day!
star-5
We had a great time...
Leslie_M
, May 2022
We had a great time sailing on this beautiful boat, great atmosphere and staff was very friendly and knowledgeable
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Glad you enjoyed your sail!
star-5
Fun and beautiful
Kelly_L
, May 2022
It was a wonderful ride!! So glad we did this!! Jeremy was so informative and friendly!!l. Sunset view was breathtaking!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for the kind words! Hope you enjoyed your visit to Salem!
star-5
Fun excursion!
Angela_H
, Nov 2021
Awesome experience!! Friendly staff! We got to steer the boat. Gave lots of information. Beautiful day on the water.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thanks, Angela!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations